Writers logo

The Good Book

I Want My Writing To Raise Your Spirits Or Be Positively Informative

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
6
The First Page

Introduction

Last week I bought an album at The Beehive in Alnwick, "The Good Book" by Melanie Safka

When I buy vinyl I like them to be special. These days it seems to be coloured vinyl or a picture disc and that is it, which is not very interesting at all.

I have written about interesting album covers and designs here, but this is not actually about music as such.

I have sometimes found Melanie terribly twee with songs like "Alexander Beetle" and "Brand New Key", but the title track of "The Good Book" is absolutely beautiful.

I was probably just in my teens when my dad's cousin bought the album and showed it to me with a lyric book integrated into the sleeve design, and I decided I would like a copy for myself.

The one I got is over fifty years old going off the beautiful dedication on page one of "The Good Book" and it is that that has inspired this piece, which is actually about my writing, not the music.

"God Bless You, My Angel

I Love You Very Much"

These lines in the song are amazing

Recite a poem or sing us a song

And tell us you love us

So we don't feel alone.

So What Is This About?

My last two pieces of fiction are for the Vocal "Unspoken" Challenge and they have made me feel a little sad. They are bothe very sad pieces, well written but very sad. They are not horror but reading them makes me feel drained and I want my writing to lift people's spirits, not upset them.

One of them took a Top Story, but that did not make me feel better. In fact I normally have my pinned stories consisting of my last three Top Stories but today I decided to drop them and just have three beautifully uplifting Top Stories.

The two stories are split in my publications by a lovely poem, and I do like seeing comments like on the screenshot below.

These are the responses that I want to inspire because they inspired me to write more uplifting things.

Sometimes I write pieces like this, which are just about how and why I write.

This is just something to say how I want to write. I will try not to write anything as grim as my last two pieces of fiction.

I am fine with horror but I will try and leave sadness to other creators.

Thank you for reading.

LifePromptsProcessInspirationAdvice
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    I never knew that you would get affected by both of your stories to this extent. Hope you feel better soon. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Lovely. Even so, congrats on those Top Stories!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.