Writers logo

Some Joe, with Mr. Dickens

My first publication and the beginning of my Vocal Journey

By J. S. WadePublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
My First Vocal Publication

Mouthwatering tangs of bacon, aromas of fresh ground coffee, and the seducing scent of waffles cooking invaded my nostrils. My stomach rumbled in anticipation of its reception of the luxurious calories, fats, and sugars available at the downtown diner.

Seated by the hostess, I ordered my meal with coffee and pulled out my latest novel of choice. Breakfast with Charles Dickens and his novel Great Expectations was great company. For the past year, I had sought to reread books from my early years through a more mature and scarred adult filter. Animal Farm, The Outsiders, Tale of Two Cities, Lord of the Rings, etc.

The diner was busy as usual due to its consistent bill of fare and service. Dickens's narrative of Pip was briefly interrupted by the presentation of my two eggs over easy, bacon, grits, and raisin toast (with apple butter on the side). I smiled at the server with thanks. Onehanding the book, I shoveled the goodies and returned to Mr. Dickens's tale and the marshlands outside of London.

"My coffees cold," an elderly man two tables over yelled for all to hear. "Hey you! Black girl. You new here?"

A server came to his table and refilled his cup.

"Are you slow or something? You just poured fresh stuff on top of my cold coffee. I want to speak to the manager. Now! Move it!" the man said.

The moderate buzz of the diner quieted as the outburst broke through the invisible walls of each diner's private space. I laid my book down, forced back from London by this irate man's diatribe. The manager came to the table and sought to assuage the man's disruptive complaints. The old man had taken center stage, and everyone present was awarded tickets to a horror show involuntarily received. Racist denigrations of the server were tossed about like two-hundred-year-old epithets of the South. Threats were made to the manager if he didn't fire her. The manager ejected the customer from the diner to the applause of my fellow diners.

I watched as the belligerent old man donned his overcoat and hat and departed. Crossing the street, he entered an ancient cemetery with its moss-laden Oak trees and dilapidated tombstones.

Opening my book, my eyes fell on these words from the pen of Mr. Dickens through the character Pip,

"In a word, I was too cowardly to do what I knew to be right, as I had been too cowardly to avoid doing what I knew to be wrong."

I closed the book, sipped my coffee, and I swear I heard Mr. Dickens say,

"You have a story to tell. Write it."

***

I had wrestled with joining Vocal and sharing my one small voice with the world. The time had come to step out and quit being a coward. Pulling my Moleskin from my back pocket, I made notes of the altercation by the old man who kept one foot in this city’s miserable past, maybe two.

As a novice and unpublished writer, I penned the short story Some Joe and posted it on the platform. A day later, I received notification from Vocal that my story had been published. In that one stroke of pressing enter, I had moved further away from the old man's cemetery and into the present of the natural world, the diner.

Over the past three years, I have published one hundred and ninety stories, poems, and articles on Vocal. They have been read Ten thousand two hundred and ninety times. Four hundred and sixty-nine people have honored me by subscribing to my creations. Thirty-seven stories and/or poems have been deemed Top Stories. In challenge contests, the Judges awarded my work with a Second Place and two Runner-Up citations.

This is all good and a long journey from a diner in Charleston, S.C., sitting with Mr. Dickens. Most important are my dear Vocal friends, colleagues, supportive readers, and Vocal Media, which didn't exist to me three years ago. The Vocal platform has given me a voice and raised me from a shattered life after suffering the significant personal loss of my son. Because of you, I have grown and continue to grow as a writer.

To all of you, I am eternally grateful. Because of you, I am no longer too cowardly to do what I know to be right. Thank you.

Don't worry, Mr. Dickens, I still have a long way to travel and will not give up my pen. By the way, you would have loved Vocal and rocked all the challenges.

***

Some Joe, published August, 2020 on Vocal Media, Let me know what you think!

AdvicePublishingInspirationCommunity

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    I remember that story and I loved that ending so much! It was nice to know how Mr Dickens played a huge role in your writing this story!

  • Natalia Grin10 months ago

    One small voice, huh... Not so small. Unique. One of a kind. Great work! Love the story.

  • What an unexpected & intimate look into your heart & soul & the genesis of your gifted writing. Thank you for sharing this with us, J. S.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Your breakfast choice was perfect, although I'd prefer sourdough toast. I was impressed with your first one and this one, which, of course, is no surprise. You are a true storyteller, sir!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Mmm...Grits! You definitely have a voice my friend. Some Joe is an awesome read. I've read it twice. I remember a lot of the stories I read on Vocal. You have some of the most Memorable. My Uncivil War won the Pulitzer Prize for literature in my mind. And Big Reds gang will always be one of my top favorites from you. Keep on doing what you do, Mr. Wade. We all appreciate your contributions, both written and commentarial. 🤩🥇🥳🍻

  • KJ Aartila10 months ago

    I love this story - it simultaneously made me smile and get choked up: "You have a story to tell. Write it!" ❤️❤️❤️

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Brilliantly and beautifully written!!! If a time portal were possible, you and Mr. Dickens could share some joe!!!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is a great entry. Well done.

  • Susana's World10 months ago

    I love this beyond, beyond ❤️❤️❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    I remember Some Joe! Thank you for sharing. Writing is so personal to us all. It's brave to share.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    This look at the genesis of your first story and reflection on the past three years is much appreciated. I am heading over to Some Joe now.

J. S. WadeWritten by J. S. Wade

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.