Writers logo

Sleepy Mission: Terraria Night

A poem made up of whatever my boyfriend and his friends say while playing video games over Discord

By sleepy draftsPublished 4 months ago โ€ข Updated 3 months ago โ€ข 2 min read
25
Sleepy Mission: Terraria Night
Photo by Youcef Chenzer on Unsplash

The mission: to write a poem made up entirely of things my boyfriend and his friends say to each other while playing the video game, Terraria.

My boyfriend and I both enjoy playing video games. Sometimes we'll hop onto Discord with a few of our friends and play our respective video games while streaming our gameplay to each other. That way we can all still be connected while doing our own thing.

Terraria night was one of those nights.

My boyfriend and his friends played Terraria while I played League of Legends and attempted to scribble in my notebook between deaths. I've never played Terraria and could only hear the game being streamed as I played my own round of 'League.' While listening to the guys' video game and banter, some of what they were saying to each other struck me as oddly...

Poetic?

(Even though they definitely didn't mean to be.)

Let's just say at that point, I'd been in a months-long writer's drought. Any inspiration that struck, I would grab. Even if it was in the middle of playing a video game.

Notebook close by, I scratched down any odd snippets that stuck out to me, not saying a word.

The next night, I did the same thing.

Once I had enough 'information,' I began to rearrange the order of the phrases without changing any of the words in the sentences themselves, until something started to feel right. Or at the very least, a little funny.

My sleepy mission to you: write a poem inspired by eavesdropping.

For this poem eavesdropping can mean snippets from the radio, a conversation you overhear while waiting in line, or ramblings from your toddler as they play. Just try to keep the phrases true to heart. Part of the fun is rearranging out-of-context moments in a way that suddenly feels artistic, funny, reflective, compelling, or just plain interesting. Repetition of phrases is allowed.

So whip out that notepad or notes app and listen out. You might just be surprised at where you find some of the most delicious phrases!

If you participate in this mini-challenge, link your poem in the comments and I'll choose three winners to feature in my January Review on January 31st. First place will get a $25 tip, second will get $15, and third will get $10. Submissions close on January 29th at 11:59 pm.

EDIT: The deadline has been extended to February 7!

EDIT EDIT: The deadline has been extended to February 21st!

FINAL EDIT: Click here

A massive thank you to Rick Henry Christopher and Vocal + Assist for contributing to the prize pot and making this an official Vocal + Assist Prompt! Thank you so much to Rick and the Vocal + Assist Admin team!

Happy Eavesdropping!

By Carl Raw on Unsplash

Terraria Night

She's only selling purification.

So what's the aim here?

382 Demonite

Angelic shotgun

Extreme speed demon...

I didn't realize I was drowning.

It's so peaceful, right?

She sells the essence of sunlight

Sunshine potion - I want that.

What if I could stand on water?

Go towards the brimstone, and I'll go towards the left.

A mimic chest.

One of them big dick potions.

Those are in the underground hallow.

How much obsidian do we all have?

How do we get unholy essence?

Should I drop the water?

Watch those meteorites.

She sells the essence of sunlight.

She's only selling purification.

By Max on Unsplash

Knock, knock Hell. I'm back.

Prompts
25

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 3 months ago

    Here it is sleepy!!! ๐Ÿคช https://vocal.media/poets/complaints-about-a-squatter

  • Liam Storm3 months ago

    Hi, this is a great idea for a challenge, and an interesting prompt! Please check out my submission for it; https://vocal.media/poets/how-the-hell-did-i-lose-that-fight

  • Hayley Matto3 months ago

    so So SO fun!! I'm on the wire with one but will get something in tonight. Love that this piece can be taken in and out of game play context and still give a meaningful fun dialogue!! Such a fun idea!! Can't wait to dive into other submissions too!

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    THANK GOD for the extension, Em! I was terrified I was gonna miss it! Literally about to listen to the radio and write one tonight! I'm committed to doing this one but it may very well be last minute. ๐Ÿ’œ

  • Ali SP3 months ago

    I loved this prompt. It seems spontaneous and fun! Who doesnโ€™t enjoy eavesdropping? I adored your piece Em and it sure made me laugh! I may not be able to participate this time around but looking forward to more of your prompts! โค๏ธ

  • Kalina Bethany3 months ago

    A breeze this was indeed (not bragging, just social anxiety winning)... listening unexpectedly to gain inspiration for this prompt! Hope you enjoy it - https://vocal.media/poets/bench-of-eden

  • Doc Sherwood3 months ago

    Loved it, absolutely hilarious! Chuckling at every line. I'd love to submit something for your challenge, but I fear I'm of the 8-bit era which didn't generate such complex sentences, although there was I suppose a certain primal rhythm that might do for slam poetry. Take for example my brother and me, fighting the final boss on Sega Master System Bubble Bobble: Move! Back! Assume the position! Fire! Move! Back... DEFEND!!! Aaagh! Move! Back! (And so on.)

  • Jennifer David3 months ago

    Oh this right up my alley!!! I love some eavesdropping! Def going to do this! You're poem is wonderful and well rounded. It shows depth and still remains light hearted at times <3

  • L.C. Schรคfer3 months ago

    "big dick potions", ok I'm dead ๐Ÿ˜‚

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    Great idea Em! Sounds fun! ๐Ÿ˜

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Great idea for a challenge ๐Ÿฅฐ Your poem is ace!

  • How can something be so deep and funnyyyyyy at the same time? ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ I enjoyed that poem so much! Let's see if something I overhear is compelling enough to become a poem, lol!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Cool challenge and hot prompt poem!!!๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธโค๏ธ

  • Kalina Bethany4 months ago

    Em - I am thoroughly creeped out as I was moments away from pressing 'Play' on Terraria last night on Steam! ...somehow, I feel this challenge was made for me - social anxiety and eavesdropping are a breeze! Enjoyed your mystical spin on their playing especially

  • This reminds me of Bowie and Dylan's cut-and-paste methods that I apply especially in my plagiaristic poetry. This is not an entry but an example but will try and create something https://vocal.media/poets/a-plagiaristic-poem-stolen-from-a-magazine

  • Great challenge! Not sure Iโ€™ll manage to gather enough lines to do something, but it sounds funโ€ฆ Iโ€™ll see. At shopping centre etc, I do regularly reflect on the funny snippets that I hear.

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Ooh wow, I absolutely love your poem! And now I wanna go into eavesdropping mode, lol. Great idea!!

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Ah very cool poem and also challenge!!! I can see myself lurking and eavesdropping in the future lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.