Poets logo

"How the hell did I lose that fight?"

For Sleepy Drafts Eavesdropping Challenge

By Liam StormPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
"How the hell did I lose that fight?"
Photo by Dominik Sostmann on Unsplash

“How the hell did I lose that fight?”

Was a phrase that I heard last night.

My mate just could not win the match,

He kept begging for COD to get a “patch”.

“That gun needs to get nerfed, man!”

He shouted just as the game began.

His game seemed to be getting worse,

It won’t be long before he starts to curse.

“Everything seems to be going wrong!”

Turning his complaint into a song.

It didn’t sound like it was going right,

But the end of the tunnel was full of light.

“I can’t believe we won that game.”

Just because he couldn’t aim.

Those were his words not mine,

Which made it my time to shine.

“I didn’t know you did that well!”

During the game I couldn’t tell.

My friend shouted so loud, that

He dominated the party chat.

“How the hell did I lose that fight?”

Was a phrase that I heard last night.

In fact I heard it quite a lot,

Everytime my friend got shot.

FriendshiphumorFor Fun

About the Creator

Liam Storm

I currently work as a thatcher, but love the art of writing a narrative, currently I am working on putting my ideas onto paper and creating a book. In the meantime I create short stories to keep myself, girlfriend and two dogs entertained.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    If it had been me playing, you would have heard the whole room saying, "Oh, I can believe it!" Lol.

  • Dasani Jones4 months ago

    My bf used to play COD, so i can relate. Love the rhymes. Very creative😘❤️‍🔥

  • Good take on this challenge… lovely rhyme and humour.

  • Teepots 4 months ago

    Hahah I know this well 😅 great rhythm and rhyme! I love reading your work. You manage to write in so manny different ways it's always a delight when you publish new work 😊

  • Hahahahahahahahaha this was a fun one! Loved it!

  • Hayley Matto5 months ago

    Super fun rhyme scheme!!! This was a fun one :)

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Awesome phrasing and word play. Neat story to the final line

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    Omg!! I love this!! This was so well done! Thank you so much for writing this and submitting it to the Sleepy Mission!! 👏🏻💗 You did such a great job with this prompt!

Liam StormWritten by Liam Storm

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.