Writers logo

Please Check Your Stories.

I had to re-edit because some links appeared in the wrong place

By Carol TownendPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
Please Check Your Stories.
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

I had to re-edit a story recently on Vocal because some of my links were in the wrong place when they published it, and I didn't see it until today.

I always check my links thoroughly before publishing, so maybe this might have been a glitch that occurred during the publishing process, as this hardly ever happens to me.

My stories are usually read, and the links are normally checked thoroughly by the editors here at Vocal. However, they are only human, and sometimes mistakes can happen.

Sometimes, previous links also stay in my browser when it hasn't been cleared for a while. When this happens, my browser will copy the wrong link instead of the one I am using.

The best way to avoid this is to check your link is correct before submitting it, and for vocal staff to ensure that links match what is being talked about in the story before publishing.

The story that I wrote talks about a serious topic, so it was vital that my links were correct.

I do courses on writing, editing, and publishing which have always explained that links should always be checked by the writer and the editor before publishing.

When writing about a serious topic such as the one I wrote, it is really important to make sure the links are correct; otherwise, it may link to a link that does not tally with the subject, and that can cause problems.

When using links, you need to make sure you cite the source correctly, ensuring the link goes back to the source from where you got it, otherwise, it can cause problems where a company may take legal action against you for using and passing off their work as your own.

This can lead to fines and even court action.

The editors at Vocal are really good at what they do, and I usually get an email if there are some mistakes in my work that need correcting. However, in this instance; I only found out today, after I went back over my work once it had been published.

I used the quick edit in order to correct the links, and I have checked it thoroughly.

I figured that the best way to deal with it was to help the editors by helping myself.

The editors on Vocal deal with thousands of submissions, and there will be times when they might make some mistakes themselves.

Vocal might not be the best place to earn from your work, but it is still a good place to read, write, and get your work seen. Another positive is that it helps you to connect with other writers.

I also write books, and one thing I noticed while studying writing is that it is easy for both the writer and the editor to make mistakes without noticing them.

It isn't always purposeful, especially when it comes to links. Sometimes when pasting a link from your browser, you can end up pasting a previous link without realizing it; especially if you have a few links saved in your browser.

In my case, I think that I might have tried to copy a link from a site, but my browser may have accidentally copied a previous link instead. This can happen when I'm trying to link a website to my article. If I have copied a video URL to my article, and it has been saved in my browser; then sometimes I will pick up that link and paste that one instead of the one I am currently using by mistake.

It is vital that my work of this kind is correct, because I have close friends who are in the world of music, and I sometimes link their bands to my stories.

Please don't just leave it to Vocal to check your work. Help them to help you by checking your links and pictures before you click submit.

It will save you a lot of work.

If you would like to read the re-edited version of my story, you can do so here:

Writing ExercisePublishingAdvice

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    I rarely have links in my stories, but when do I always click on them not make sure. Great advice.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Spot on advice!!! Loving it!!!💕♥️♥️ If you have a minute, check out my latest Limerick, TEEN SPIRIT!!!

  • I do try and double check mine, but some good points here

Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.