Writers logo

My Vocal Aspirations

or My New Year revolutions

By Rebecca PattonPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
My Vocal Aspirations
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

With the new year looming ahead, I have resolved to make a few changes this year, especially when it comes to my writing. I admit I did write a decent amount last year, and I even finally got my book, Of Demons and Deception, published on Amazon! However, I know I could have written more, especially here on Vocal, if I just applied myself better. So my first goal is to publish something on Vocal at least once a week. Whether it would be a submission to a challenge or just a small poem, I plan to become a more frequent and consistent writer here on Vocal, if not in general.

There is also a story, divided into chapters, called The Cruel Continent that I have yet to finish here on Vocal. Another goal of mine is to finally finish it, making both my mom (who loves it despite not being a big fan of fantasy) and any other readers who are following it happy.

Before this year, I did my writing from Monday to Friday, and occasionally on Saturday. This year, I plan to extend my writing period to Saturday, even if it is just something small or a few words to a story I am working on. Sundays I won't write both due to religious reasons and because I know I need one day where I don’t have to be stressed about writing something.

Another goal of mine is also to make the time to read others’ works on Vocal as well. I did it last year but I plan to be more consistent with supporting my other readers here on this site. I promise always to leave a comment and if applicable, a heart and a follow.

Something I noticed is that while I was very prolific when I was first starting to write, it can be hard for me now to write a few sentences (a reason why I didn’t write as much as I wanted to last year). I think one of the main reasons is that as I have gained more practice and skill, my work has grown to be more detailed, causing me to care and stress more about getting the story exactly right. This year, I both hope and plan to not worry about getting it absolutely perfect and just let the words flow. There is a reason why there are drafts after all. And besides, if there is one thing I’ve learned is that you can’t please everyone. And that’s perfectly okay.

I also plan to continue writing and submitting pieces for Vocal challenges. Not only do they give me an excuse to write stories on Vocal, but they give me a chance to write in a genre that I am not necessarily familiar or comfortable with. And as much as I may not like it at first, it is often good to get out of your comfort zone.

With these goals in mind, I hope that the coming year will be successful, enlightening, and fulfilling in terms of being an author.

ChallengeWriting ExerciseWriter's BlockVocalProcessLife

About the Creator

Rebecca Patton

Ever since discovering Roald Dahl, I wanted to be an author who would delight and move her readers through her stories. I also wrote my debut novel, "Of Demons and Deception" on Amazon.

IG: https://www.instagram.com/rspatton10/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • sleepy drafts6 months ago

    First of all, huge congratulations on publishing your book! I totally feel you with consistency being a goal for 2024. Thank you for sharing your goals, and good luck! I look forward to reading more from you this year!

  • J. Delaney-Howe6 months ago

    Great set of goals. Best of luck to you!!!

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    Best of luck! Pour some poop on to the page and edit it to gold - THIS IS THE WAY 😁

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Wonderful goals, and wonderfully written. Good luck with your aspirations.

Rebecca PattonWritten by Rebecca Patton

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.