Writers logo

My Interest is Piqued #2

A Vocal + Assist Facebook Feature

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 3 months ago β€’ 4 min read
19

"My Interest is Piqued" is a feature I started in early 2023 on the Facebook group Vocal + Assist. I did it for a few months then lost interest. However, the feature was very popular and I decided it was worth another go round.

In this new iteration of "My Interest is Piqued" I will be writing it in the style of a news column, so it will indeed include bits of information and sometimes humor here and there. I plan on having fun with this while I feature stories of some of Vocal Media's most brilliant writers.

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

Meet Kenneth Lawson. Kenneth is a great guy. He's a down-to-earth family man. Kenneth loves reading and writing. But, what interests me most about him is his love for music. Anybody who knows me knows that I love music and I love music from all genres and times. From what I gather Kenneth especially enjoys some music of Frank Sinatra, Henry Mancini, Roy Clark, Miles Davis, Glen Campbell, and many other great musicians. Kenneth loves using fountain pens and listening to records. Get up close and personal with Kenneth.

Enjoy the Original post from Vocal + Assist on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/permalink/1333446663984506/?mibextid=Nif5oz

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

Ahna Lewis is a magical writer, her words come alive when her reader eyes them. Ahna is a high school English teacher so you know she has command of the English language. Ahna is an awarded Vocal creator having been a Runner-up in the Passing Ship challenge.

Original Facebook post: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/permalink/1197682887560885/?mibextid=Nif5oz

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

Jason Basaraba (aka JBaz) is an accomplished writer and writes in several genres. He's a well-respected storyteller in the Vocal Media community.

With this story I am featuring; Jason has tried his hand at horror and well he scared the living daylights out of me.

Original Facebook Post: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/permalink/1207754266553747/?mibextid=Nif5oz

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

Everybody loves Em Keels (also known as sleepy drafts). Em has a talent of drawing people to her with her clever wit and exceptional storytelling skills. Her story "Lunch Money" is an unusual story with a bit of humor and a moral learned.

Enjoy the original Facebook post: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/permalink/1245209906141516/?mibextid=Nif5oz

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

I love this one from my cousin… Tiffa… Tiffany Gordon is one of Vocal Media's most loved creators. Rumor has it that she is mother to more than a dozen children. Of course let's keep in mind that they are her Barbie (and Ken) children. Still, I keep hearing that she is one excellent momma.

Enjoy the original Facebook post: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/permalink/970071750322001/?mibextid=Nif5oz

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

Keila Aartila is an equestrian and as she says it; she has a bunch of horses. In this featured article we get a brief introduction to Keila a longtime member of Vocal + Assist.

Enjoy the original Facebook post: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/permalink/1195498921112615/?mibextid=Nif5oz

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

Lamar Wiggins first came to my attention when he wrote a dragon story called β€œTywrick.” Now let me tell you I am not at all into dragons or dragon stories. But Lamar did such a masterful job at writing this story that I just couldn't help but to love it. Right at that moment I became a Lamar Wiggins fan and have been ever since.

In this featured story β€œAliens in da Hood,” Lamar treats us to his off-beat humor, set to rhyme and rhythm…

Enjoy the original Facebook post: https://m.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/permalink/1290865931575913/?mibextid=Nif5oz

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

I don't know Marie Wilson, from Toronto, very well yet. But, I am very impressed with her story β€œIn the 6ix a Black Baker Rises to the Top,” that I hope I get the opportunity to know her better. Please enjoy her inspiring story for Black History Month:

Enjoy the original Facebook post: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/permalink/1364365234225982/?mibextid=Nif5oz

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

Clyde E. Dawkins is a quiet yet prolific writer. He mainly does sports reviews or stories on his favorite television or film villainesses. Clyde's style is professional, well researched, and filled with great details.

Enjoy the original Facebook post: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/permalink/1363785067617332/?mibextid=Nif5oz

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

Natasha Sunny Collazo is one of our newest members. Wow, is she ever talented! Natasha calls herself a Werewolf Writer. She says she finds her inspiration in the mid of night. She works the stock market by day and is a writer by night. I suspect some mystery here!!!

Enjoy the original Facebook post: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/permalink/1363124704350035/?mibextid=Nif5oz

πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜πŸ€ͺ😜

With Love, RHC ❀️

VocalShoutoutInspirationCommunityAchievements
19

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz3 months ago

    Rick this is awesome. First, thank you for having me featured amongst these talented people. Thanks to this article I have found three new writers that I was unaware of. Cheers

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Such an honor to be mentioned amongst the great talent featured here. Thank you so much RHC. My interest is also piqued!

  • A lot of great choices here, Rick, & only four I believe I had read before (though somehow I had managed not to give a heart to one of them the first time around; rectified now).

  • Really enjoying these

  • Great job everyone who was mentioned! Keep writing!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Great collection of very talented writers!!

  • KJ Aartila3 months ago

    Very nice job - and lot of work, I suspect - Thank you for including me!

  • Nice

  • Kenneth Lawson3 months ago

    Thanks for the Mention and write-up,

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    Cute stuff! Thanks so much 4 the mention and the wonderful reading material that you've provided me with today! 😁 Awesome job Cousin!!

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Wow!!! Thank you so much, Rick. There are so many incredible writers on this list and I am so honoured to be included! Thank you so much for putting this together! πŸ’—πŸ’•

  • Marie Wilson3 months ago

    Wow what a treasure trove of talent! And to think someone such as moi has made the cut. Thank you, Rick! It's great to see such acknowledgement for my work. I am familiar with some of the others on your list but look forward to rediscovering them & discovering anew the others!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.