Writers logo

My First

Piece of fiction

By Samantha Jamison Published 11 months ago 1 min read
My First
Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

When I was in elementary school, we had some free time. I had been daydreaming most of the day about my dog, Buddy. He was such a good boy. I was dreaming that he had run off and found a girl dog and they fell in love and then she had puppies. I decided to sit down and write a story. I made a little book out of it too! I was so proud of my work.

I got home, excitedly showed my parents and they said "wow, Samantha! You're such a good writer!" Silly to say, I have carried that small bit of confidence with me when I write to this day. And no matter how shitty my story is, my parents will always tell me it's the best one yet.

I'm still a daydreamer. I love to see my stories play out in my head, like a movie. I mostly journal these days, but sometimes I get an amazing story idea. I've noticed that I love to write romantic-comedy. I have tried many different styles of writing and tried my hand a poetry, non-fiction, historical fiction, you name it. I just love getting a story on the page. Or screen? Even if I utterly hate it, I still feel proud. I actually got a story written!!

Obviously since elementary school I have improved as a writer. Although, I do still write pretty cheesy pieces sometimes, it's the satisfaction of having completed a writing project I've been working on for weeks, months, years, that is the most wonderful, almost overwhelming feeling. That little bit of confidence from my first story that I feel when I write a story, whether it's the 100th or the millionth.

For me, as a writer, the feeling never fades. And that feeling is exactly why I keep writing. Or keep trying to anyway.

Challenge

About the Creator

Samantha Jamison

I'm back into writing and can't wait to get some stories that have been moving around in my head. I love to write fiction and I love to journal. My hopes are to become a better writer and avid reader. I love wine and cats.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Samantha Jamison Written by Samantha Jamison

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.