Writers logo

My Aversion To Poetry

And Microfiction

By Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Published 10 months ago • 3 min read
An AI Nightcafe Creation

Introduction

This is just the devil in me that I have written about so often when it has got me down and upset, but writing this piece I feel in a good mood and on top of things, because where I used to think I was being forced into something, now I feel it is entirely my own choice and in my own hands.

Again this is just my own views on me and not how I feel about others. Everybody has their own way of doing things and if it works for them, then that is what they should do (I don't include plagiarism and "AI" generated texts in that, credited or uncredited, now with new authors I do check for AI content if I feel it is wrong or they have published fifty stories in the last day or so), but all my friends and audience I believe are incredible creators and always very supportive.

The music is "I Can't Stand It" by The Blossoms and you should check them out covering Smith's songs with Rick Astley on vocals.

So What Am I On About?

This article is going to appear in the Writers Vocal Community, and part of me says, three hundred words on this subject is fine, but the devil inside tells me that I am being very lazy and short-changing my audience if I were to do that.

That is the feeling that I had for the various Vocal microfiction Challenges, and the recent Critique one. The devil inside was telling me what a lazy ****er I was, but I countered with "But that is the rule, that is the specification, if I did any more I would be breaking the rules"

Although I may deemed to be old-fashioned, having been publishing on Vocal for nearly two and a half years (I nearly wrote two hundred years then), I do like being expected to write at least six hundred words for an article and a hundred words for a poem (though the poem is usually padded out with an intro to hit the hundred-word limit, but it usually exceeds that by some way).

You have probably twigged that I am writing this so that I don't publish a poem or a microfiction, because there is a part of me telling me I am lazy.

I do love writing poetry, and I am fine with microfiction, but I suppose, to me, they are literary chocolate and I am diabetic so I should only allow myself limited access to those formats, and that is my aversion to these formats.

You know damned well I will probably write a poem after this unless the devil stops me once more from expressing myself in rhyme, but the devil always eventually gets sent packing.

And Why Am I Writing This?

I often write pieces like this to let others know that creators feel like this at times. There are many ways to defeat that devil and this is one of the weapons that I choose.

Write a piece like this and then I deserve to be able to write a poem.

Others may have their own way of dealing with the devil, if they didn't we would not see so many stories being posted on Vocal. This will be among them at some point.

I hope that you have taken something positive from this, and maybe feel a bit more confident about your creations.

As I wrote that sentence, Bowie's "Heroes" came on the player, and you and all my friends and audience are true heroes for the work you create and the support that you give.

Thank you for giving me your time, I really appreciate it.

LifeProcessInspirationAdvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ ♫

X ÖŽ In ÖŽ YT (0.2m) ÖŽ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les ♥ Gina ♥ Heather ♥ Caroline ♥

Babs ♥ ROCK ♥ Dhar ♥ Cathy ♥ Judey ♥ Anna ♥

Daphsam ♥ Misty ♥ Melissa ♥ Ma Coombs ♥

Carol ♥

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    You are so hardworking! So glad you wrote that poem!

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    love this. thanks for sharing

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Written by Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.