Writers logo

Money Spent Wisely On Gifts

How wisely?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
6
Money Spent Wisely On Gifts
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Eight years ago I started a Poem a Day in February (PaDiF) on Facebook. I saw that others were doing this. Now, I can't tell you who, but someone was doing it!

Now, I have four contests. One a week for the 28/29 days. and at least 12 gifts or prizes as it is for the first 3 or 4 places. It can even turn into 6 as one did this time. The contest was rhyme and I had the idea to have a rhyming haiku separate for the same contest.

Please don't get me wrong as this is fun for me. I write every day for the month. Sometimes twice a day and sometimes more. My contributions are primarily rhyme.

I am retired. When someone asked me why I still work part-time I say it is because I need the money for my other activities. A PaDiF and a cancer fundraiser that I am involved in every year for at least 10 years now.

I jokingly add that if I didn't have the part-time work that I do, I wouldn't be able to not counsel my husband. That wouldn't go! I like him mostly the way he is. I've already tried to change a few things I don't like. But you know, I can only change me!

Speaking of husbands, mine thinks I overspend. Our accounts are separate. Good thing. I had shared accounts in my first marriage which was fine as he gave me his check and I spent it. Minus what he used to drink and use drugs with. It may be my fault he started dealing drugs.

That is a whole other story.

This story is about money spent wisely. I thought I may have a few winners that are male this time and I did. One will get a book at the end of this and one already got a gift.

It is more expensive to mail gifts this year than I remember from previous times. Someone suggested gift cards. That would be less expensive,

I went to the hardware store and someone directed me to the dollar store but I didn't go. I looked for trophy stores and a print shop I go to has that but I forgot and haven't been back.

Next time is what I say. I will do this every year until I am gone!

No matter what it costs me. I have others that help me along. So prizes this time were gardening tools, thermostats, and rain measurers. Bird books, specialty journals, and poetry books. I got writing prompt cards from a famous author of the gal who helped me out at the store!

It is fun looking for prizes for winners. Some that I know will win, I know enough about to get them personal prizes that will mean something to them. I was thanked for thinking of one winner's dogs!

She is a definite dog lover and talks about them and writes about them all of the time! I do believe it was the right gift. She promised pictures at some point.

My husband has been a judge for a time or two now. He isn't interested in that, but he loves me and wants to please. So, if I give him the tied finalists, he will help decide!

If you don't tell hubby, I will let you know that prizes this year were a couple hundred dollars or more. Shipping an additional $100.+ It is a good thing I have a job that pays me 400. - 600. a day for a 3-day training about every other month!

Spent wisely? I think so. Fun for all! I much rather give than get. Unless someone wants to come in and do some organizing or cleaning for me. That is about all I need in my life! I am so blessed!

LifeWriting ExercisePromptsChallengeAchievements
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    You have such a giving heart!

  • Awww, you're so sweet and kind! And also so generous with gifts! Giving always brings joy!

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    A poem a day keep the doctor away! Great work, as always! And now I want to hear the other story about “the dealing” lol. And how fun your current husband gets to judge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.