Writers logo

Work As a Culture Consultant

I am not an expert. I am Native American.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
6
Work As a Culture Consultant
Photo by Andrew James on Unsplash

The picture above is not what I look like. When I was in college, a professor came to my internship at a detox facility on the reservation. She asked at that meeting why I didn't wear my hair in braids. I really couldn't believe she asked that.

The dress above is regalia or a dancing outfit. Never a costume or regular dress for a Native American person.

I learned more from that internship experience about working with alcoholics/drug addicts than I did from my four-year counseling degree.

I don't think many professors through the doctoral program I attended knew much or understood some of the differences of being raised in the Native American culture.

A professor in my master in counseling program asked that I review the MMPI (Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory). This was required to be admitted into the program.

A previous time earlier in my life when I took it, I was considered neurotic. I didn't want to have it reviewed if I didn't have to. The professor insisted. There were surprises. I was all within normal limits. I could breathe again.

Then she said, "You fooled me! I thought you were shy!" I have never been shy. This discovery meant that because I wasn't shy, I wouldn't get by with not talking much in class. A portion of our grade was dependent on participation.

I knew that when socialized in the culture we are taught to watch, listen, don't talk until we are safe. We learn we have 2 eyes, 2 ears, and 1 mouth for a reason, without anyone ever saying that.

Knowing those things and a lot of other things makes me a good culture consultant and trainer. What helps me in my weekly group is having spent many years working with substance abuse and mental health guests (program participants).

The other thing that helps me is my recovery. I started recovery in 1978. The year Native Americans in this country got religious freedom. The year the Indian Child Welfare law was passed, allowing tribes to have a say in the placement of their children.

When in my teens and early 20's I struggled with depression, anxiety, and panic disorder. I learned how to not have those mental health experiences anymore and can help others. The same with addiction, as I have been free of drugs and alcohol since 1980.

I grew up with my grandpa living in our house. He was a fluent Ojibwe language speaker who wouldn't speak one word of the language to us or to my mother or her siblings. I asked him why when I was older and he said, its better as we would be punished.

Children in boarding schools would be punished for speaking their Native language.

Other people coming to America agreed to use the English language in this country. I was told that Native people were never asked or never agreed to that. It was because of the punishment that the people felt forced to not teach their children.

Some forgot the language as they were put in boarding school so young and were there for so long.

This information and more is what I was told growing up. Not from school but from family. My father and grandfather were in boarding school. My mother was not.

The program I run a weekly culture group at has had a culture consultant since opening the program. My job is to share culture stories with lessons and what I know best as a Native American culture consultant.

Cultural healing is important, like information about our first two medicines, tears, and laughter. How it is important to cry and laugh to help heal.

Life
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    I'm from Malaysia and this happened when I was in school. We were not allowed to speak our native language and would be punished if we do. We were to only speak in English or Malay which is the national language here. It's just so sad to know that this is more common than I thought.

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    My heart is broken. I am so glad you share these stories. It is so true that in this country we are NOT taught properly (if at all) about Native American history and culture. When you wrote about our first two medicines, I don't think I've ever heard anything more beautiful than that. Wherever you work and for those who are privy to your wisdom, they are blessed and fortunate indeed!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.