Writers logo

I Published a Poetry Book

evergreen - something that never goes out of style

By Ashley LimaPublished 7 days ago β€’ Updated 7 days ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
28

Long time, no see.

I've had a lot going on in my life for the past year or so, and I have been feeling incredibly stagnant.

Vocal has been an incredibly important part of my writing development over the past few years, and I've posted a lot of work on this website that I'm incredibly proud of... I was feeling some type of way the other day, and decided to take some of my best work from Vocal and slam it all together into a poetry chapbook... and so, evergreen was born.

evergreen explores what I'd consider to be my quarter life crisis. It touches on themes of death, fear, hope, love, and general human existence. It's a piece of my soul, and it's a conversation with my younger self. For some reason, I feel most comfortable talking about my deepest shames and insecurities to people who I've never met, but this collection has allowed me to share those parts of myself with my friends, coworkers, and family as well.

It's a little nervewracking to release these vulnerabilities into the ether for everyone and anyone to see, but something inside was telling me to do it. I don't know exactly what that something is. Perhaps my ego. Perhaps the universe. Perhaps it was nothing more than a hallucination. Whatever it may have been, releasing this just felt right, so here goes nothing.

You can read evergreen for free with Kindle Unlimited, now until forever. And you can purchase evergreen for free, now until 11:59 PM PST, Saturday, June 15th.

I'd really appreciate if you gave this book a download/"purchase," even if you don't decide to read it. Honest reviews are welcome. I'd love to know what I did right and even what I might have done wrong.

Thanks so much for reading. I hope to find the time to be more active on Vocal again. I'm incredibly grateful for everything this community has given me, and even though I'm not around as much as I would like to be, I haven't forgotten about any of you even a little bit.

Lots of love,

ash

CommunityVocalPublishingAchievements
28

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin a day ago

    And congratulations on the TS!πŸŽ‰

  • Good for you; congratulations on publishing it. Even though you had written the pieces, it still required sifting through your poems and deciding which ones to put in your book.

  • Ameer Bibi5 days ago

    It's looking interesting Congratulations

  • Jane Katt5 days ago

    Thank you for sharing "evergreen." Your honesty and vulnerability are truly touching. Thrilled to dive into your poetic journey!

  • Novel Allen5 days ago

    Great achievement Ashley, congrats, I will check it out. Goos luck with it all.

  • Gene Lass5 days ago

    Congrats on publishing your book! Something I learned when I put out my first one was if you sell a Kindle copy, you get paid if someone pays for it. If someone downloads it on Kindle Unlimited, you only get paid if they read it. They prorate the amount based on what's read. I hope you get a lot of downloads. The best poetry is when it's from the heart, fearless, and real.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • Cathy holmes5 days ago

    Congrats!

  • Shirley Belk6 days ago

    Congratulations

  • TahimaAni6 days ago

    wonderful bookβ™₯️

  • This is wonderful Ashley! Congratulations! πŸ™Œ I will definitely download, read and review for you πŸ₯° Thank you for making it available for free xx

  • Denise Larkin6 days ago

    Good luck with the book. I will take a look at it.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 days ago

    Well done, A. L. !πŸ…

  • Christy Munson6 days ago

    I don't have Kindle but I'll try to find a way to purchase/view/read your book of poems. Congratulations on your major accomplishment! I can imagine how thrilled you must be! πŸ₯³πŸ€©πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»

  • Bri Craig6 days ago

    Just downloaded a copy! I'll be leaving on vacation tomorrow so the timing is perfect! Also noticed that in your amazon rankings, you reached the #1 spot for kindle contemporary poetry! Congrats! (And make sure you screenshot that honor!)

  • I love your style and passion! Congratulations on your publication I wish you great success

  • Paul Stewart6 days ago

    Yay! Well done on Top Story!

  • That's awesomeeee! Congratulations! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • Suze Kay6 days ago

    Ashley, this is astonishing! Just downloaded on Kindle Unlimited. Can't wait to devote some time to it this weekend. Congratulations on such a major accomplishment <3

  • Ariel Joseph6 days ago

    Congrats! I can't wait to read it!

  • Mark Gagnon6 days ago

    Hi, Ashley, It has been a while but you've used your time well. Congrats on the book!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji7 days ago

    Congratulations on a book published. I think as you mentioned you have ADHD and that might be overthinking burnout that causes the imposter syndrome to feel like all others are looking at your imperfections

  • Paul Stewart7 days ago

    Ooooooh Ashley! Yay! So pleased to get this update. Will be heading over there soon! Well done to you! Also Quarter Life Crisis is a term I only heard about because a singer-songwriter type called Baby Queen had an awesome album called that out recently! :) anyway, congrats and I hope you get lots of downloads and reviews! One tiny thing - perhpas you could add a link to make it easier?

  • Congratulations, my latest is also a free Kindle download for the next few days

  • Matthew Fromm7 days ago

    ayyy congrats! added to the purchase list.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.