Writers logo

Hunting Cats: Reflections on "A Story Every Day" So Far (January Edition)

A look back at my month of microfiction madness

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
16
Hunting Cats: Reflections on "A Story Every Day" So Far (January Edition)
Photo by The Lucky Neko on Unsplash

How it started...

How it's going...

We are 31 days in, and I have successfully posted a microfiction story every day so far.

I admit some of them bend the definition of microfiction, but I'm satisfied that I hit my own criteria for the challenge.

Vocal seemed to have some technical issues on one or two days, and there was quite a delay before the story appeared. On once occasion I didn't get back until late, and I scrambled to put my post up with minutes to spare. It may not have actually been approved and appeared until after midnight, but still. I am content that I did my bit, and my streak is alive.

A look back...

  • 31 days, one microfiction story submitted every day
  • Two of those stories got Top Story (A New Beginning, and Clip Clop)
  • I published 18 pieces that were not microfiction. This included several challenge entries: three to the Abecedarian challenge, three for the Misplaced challenge, and one for #200. I also posted a critique request, a little bit about my book baby, an AI blooper reel, and a wanky poem called "Burn". (I have a personal rule not to post more than two a day because I don't want to spam anyone's notifications.)
  • I racked up over 1,000 reads this month. For perspective, I've been here three years, and it took about that long to get to around 5k.
  • Speaking of which, I sailed past 6k reads at some point and I'm nudging up against 7k now. I am sure consistency in posting has led to an uptick.
  • My most-read micro this month was A New Beginning, and my most-liked, most-commented on micro was Clip Clop. Undoubtedly because Vocal gave these two Top Story status, which gave them a leg up.
  • Other Observations

I have two favourite microfiction stories this month: Clip Clop and Stretching Poor. They're both a bit harrowing, I suppose, but I feel like they evoke a strong response, and the comments bear that out. That's a measure of success, I think. It's what writing is for.

What it's been like

I was really nervous at the start of the year, because I closed out of 2023 with nothing in the tank. My posting last year was inconsistent, because my writing habit was inconsistent. It was really hard to envision having enough stuff to post. I felt it in my bones that it could and would happen, if I just showed up and gave it a go. But I really couldn't see it, because I've never been there before.

The truth is, there's not been a day so far where I haven't had something ready to submit.

Lessons learned

1. Writing begets writing

The more you write, the more you write! Prioritise it. Just write something. This is the best thing I take from this, and I can't emphasise it enough.

2. Ideas are like cats

You don't have to look for ideas, as such. They're f---ing everywhere, to be honest. You just have to sneak up on them and catch them by the tail before they can escape. Sometimes you have to pretend you don't see them, and sidle up softly, all nonchalance, so they don't disappear like a soap bubble.

3. You can always trim more

Always.

The good thing about doing micros, specifically, is that you have to be brief. Briefer. Briefer than that. I have a tendency to waffle, so this was good for me.

4. Stuff about myself

Apparently, I like writing about dogs, dragons, and death. I like pain, and grief, and heartbreak. I like things that makes me angry.

Normally, I am a wimp when it comes to pain. If I get a headache, I must lie down in a dark room and sleep it off. If I stub my toe, I curse like a sailor. If I cut myself, I'm done for the day. But put a pen in my hand, and I am a masochist. The pen is a knife and I lean on it recklessly and happily. I groan at the sensation of penetration, I spurt, I delight in it. I'm not good at puns, but double entendres are right up my alley.

Wrapping it up

I haven't done a pillar post for these stories, because I'm putting them all in my Index, which is pinned to the top of my profile. You'll find all my stories there, and these micros have their own section.

Thank you

...for stopping by, for reading this, for getting this far. For your little black heart, if you give it to me. For your comment, if you leave one. (Please do, so I can reciprocate the read!) It is doubly appreciated if it's a thoughtful and engaging one. For being a supportive community. For being on this story-a-day adventure in any capacity - whether you are scribbling along with me, or pom-pomming on the sidelines.

Let's see what February brings!

AchievementsVocalCommunityChallenge
16

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    You are truly inspirational! Congratulations on completing the first month and for surpassing 6k reads, that too with 1k reads just from one month! That's a hugeeeee achievement! Looking forward to your future stories! Also, sensation of penetration 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Strong work!!! That’s a heck of an achievement! I think your stories were great at the beginning of the month but they’ve been belting this last week! Good luck for February.

  • I cannot argue with your favorites, though you've done a lot this past month that has been top drawer. I have been told by others on occasion that my heart is as black as quantum singularity in space. It's nice to know that someone appreciates it, lol. (And yeah, I'm giving you one now!)

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    I worry for your sanity, but keep it up, you're doing great. I think the Moira journey has got my attention.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    1 down. 11 to go. God, that sounds ominous. Sorry. Anyway, good for good I'm cheering you on from the sidelines. 👏

  • The hard work has been paying off LC! Keep it up!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    Congrats on surviving the first month—only eleven more to go! I can’t imagine writing a different microfiction every day for a year, but you’re making it look easy. I still have a few to catch up on, but the ones that I have read have been fantastic. Keep up the great work!

  • Test4 months ago

    Congrats on keeping going with it! 🤍 Haven't read all but eveything I have has been fantasric! 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.