Writers logo

How I Healed from Mistakes Made in My Writing Career

And Returned Better Than Ever

By Kathy TsoukalasPublished 17 days ago Updated 17 days ago 3 min read

I always wanted to be a writer, but it took nearly messing things up by making some bad decisions to help me enjoy writing again. I learned the hard way never to lose touch with the projects I am really mean to work on. Here's a look at my story:

When I first learned how to write sentences and paragraphs, I knew wanted to be a writer. I wrote my first poem shortly after I scratched out my first essay. I became a published writer about a year after that.

I was ten, and I had a poem that was published in a school newsletter. A lot has happened with my writing since then, and not all of it has been positive.

My journey started on a hopful note.

I started my writing career over twenty years ago. I was so excited to make money with the written word. It was my first taste of what it felt like to having my words get publsihed.

For the first six months of my writing business, I joyfully wrote whatever I wanted. I lived in Germany at the time, and I would spend my days wandering around the countryside and nearby cities and write poetry, journal entries, stories, and more. I had a few things published.

I started to get accepted into publications.

I eventually graduated to writing for publications, like magazines and newspapers. I even wrote a book and found a publisher - but the publisher folded before it saw daylight.

I had a handful of pieces published during this time period, but I made very little money. I had some poetry published, a flash fiction story, and even a few articles.

It took me a few months to get my first work submitted, but once I had got going, I really developed momentum. The problem? I wasn't making a lot of money.

I knew I had to find a way to make more money.

It was clear that taking the traditional approach of coming up with ideas and submitting to publication wasn't going to work to make me more money. I knew I had to find another options.

That's where the internet comes in. In 2005, I created my first profile on a freelance marketplace site and I eventually got my first client project. I made $50, and I felt like I was on my way.

I started to take on projects that would pay me money. I raised my rates after I got more experience. I felt unstoppable! That is, until the burnout started to creep in.

The only problem is, I ignored the burnout completely, and I got myself to the point where I could no longer write.

Here's are some things that led to my burnout:

• I didn't make time for my own projects.

• I didn't pay attention to the topics I was writing about.

• I worked far too much.

I am in a new chapter of my writing career.

After years of burnout, I finally entered a new chapter of my writing career. Here's what I did:

• I started writing poetry.

• I only worked on proejcts I really cared about.

• I used creative practices to improve my creativity.

It's been a journey that has taken several years, but now I am finally able to write without feeling physically sick. As it turns out, I had to learn how to have fun again.

The cure was that I had to write only about the things I truly cared about. In doing so, I have been able to heal and start my writing career over again, refreshed. I would say I have returned better than ever!

Writer's BlockLifeInspiration

About the Creator

Kathy Tsoukalas

I was a burned out writer until my creative practices helped me heal.

Happy to be here on Vocal to find new ways to express myself while also learning from others.

Find Me: Twitter/X | LinkedIn

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kathy TsoukalasWritten by Kathy Tsoukalas

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.