Writers logo

Greetings and Salutations

My first unofficial contest entry

By Hope MartinPublished 9 months ago 3 min read

Below is my entry to Heather Hubler's unofficial challenge “Write Me a Letter.” It’s my first time participating in a creator-made contest, so I’m a little nervous about it! I hope you enjoy my letter.

Hello fellow Queen.

We don't know each other, and I'm not exactly sure how to write a letter to someone I am not acquainted with. But I vaguely remember having a PenPal in elementary school, so I think I will just pretend it's like that.

So firstly, my friends call me Hope. I have 3 beautiful children and a zen master of a soul mate. I am a published author, a writer, and an abuse survivor. I have a blessed house and a joyful life. But I have a secret. In your letter, you mentioned a heavy heart and soul, and a messy mind.

I'm familiar with those feelings. I myself had (and may still be having) a funk myself recently. The last few years have been really hard, I imagine it has been for many, many people. The world is operating almost normally, but it's like we shoved something down under a rug, and right behind the vividity of the sun shining, there is a shadow, waiting to be acknowledged.

I find myself worrying, worrying over everything. And dreams haunt me at night, keeping me tired. And there's an overwhelming weight coming from...somewhere in my soul, and I don't even know where it comes from. I wonder if you perhaps feel something similar?

I look around me and see my children and my family and I am able to shake these feelings for the most part. But sometimes when I am alone, or when money is tight and I am stressed, the shadows of myself wrap their tendrils around my neck and slowly tighten their vice-like grip until I am choking on feelings I can't even express because they don't belong there.

But you know what?

I decided a long time ago that these shadows were not stronger than me. I'll admit, they feel stronger than me, sometimes for weeks at a time. I still don't quite know how to shake myself out of their grasp every time. But they will never beat me.

Life was bad once, very bad. And now life is good. I found a reason to keep going when life was bad, and now life is good so I have a reason to fight even harder.

I don't tell my family about these feelings because they love me, a lot. I'm the matriarch of the house, so if something is wrong with me everyone goes into panic mode (they really are just scared they'll starve to death because I've spoiled them all). So I keep the shadows deep down inside my mind and soul because I have a family to take care of.

Not that I can't count on my household. My love is amazing, my children are super sparkle glitter-corns of joy and love, and my best friend and her husband have carried me out of the darkness numerous times. But they take such good care of me, that I am determined to not make them worry. My heart is full. Too full of love and happiness to be dimmed by stupid shadows of the past and false insecurity.

So, thank you for writing to tell us how you are. And thank you for your honesty in your message. I am glad you are here to be able to write again. And I hope that both of us can keep keeping on. Because whether we feel it or not, we are powerful. We are beautiful. And we have kingdoms to run, fellow Queen.

You're not alone, and I hope you know that. If anything, you have your new penpal.

With love and good vibrations,

Hope.

Writing ExerciseShoutoutLifeInspirationCommunityChallenge

About the Creator

Hope Martin

Find my fictional fantasy book "Memoirs of the In-Between" on Amazon in paperback, eBook, and hardback.

You can also find it in the Apple Store or on the Campfire Reading app.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock8 months ago

    Dear Hope, This is such a tender, vulnerable, encouraging letter. I pray that you hold every word you have written here truly & dearly. You are strong, powerful, beautiful--a queen worthy of both love & admiration. May you be eternally blessed to both know & feel this forevermore. Blessings, Randy

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    Hi Hope! I was going through the winning pieces to my challenge in order to tip you all your winnings, and I saw that your account does not have the feature set up to accept tips :(

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    Beautiful letter!! Congratulations!!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Beautifully written. Congrats.

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    I want to start by thanking you for taking a chance on this challenge and for being so wonderfully genuine in your response. It's hard to be vulnerable and admit out loud (or on a screen) just how hard things can be sometimes even when there's so much to be thankful for. I hear you. I see you too. And I'm sending big warm hugs to help hold you together when your momma's heart is tired. I feel that on every level. And I'm so honored that you shared parts of your life with me :) I loved the use of Queen! I wrote a poem for my 100th piece on Vocal during Women's History month, called We Are Queens. I go back and read it often, letting the words soak in, because I meant every word of it and it keeps me going sometimes when I need some reminders. I'd offer for you to read it sometime. Thank you again for this lovely piece!

Hope MartinWritten by Hope Martin

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.