Writers logo

DEAR HEATHER

Why is everyone writing to you?

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
DEAR HEATHER
Photo by Tachina Lee on Unsplash

Every Tom, Dick, and Harry I know on here is writing to you, and though I don’t know why I have decided to do so too. I have read some of the letters written to you and in all conscience, there are great writers on vocal. You ought to be gratified, and most of all should be feeling exceptional because I think you are a muse that makes great minds just want to write. Upon waking up today I felt the urge to talk to someone unknown. And I suddenly remembered you and a thought crossed my mind. This is me trying…

What I’m about to share with you is a heartbreaking story that needs to be off my chest. Heather, I am a broken woman who goes to bed every day heavily burdened. I die every night and rise every morning. I am in a dark world that barely knows the comfort of light in it. I love love (if this makes any sense at all), and poignantly the people I have shown this love to never seem to appreciate it. It’s like my words fall on deaf ears, my actions are received by the wrong people.

Is it true that the right person will find you?

Well, I hope so because I am worn out already. I have tried with zeal to use love as my drug but to no avail. What is it that people want? How deeply should one love the other so as to be accepted? How does someone prove their worth? (If love is worth proving at all)

My heart aches, I’m in turmoil trying to figure things out.

I am not looking for love anymore but preparing for it.

Was it bad for me to openly express how he made me feel all this while?

I may have said something that felt offensive at that moment, but how fast he reacted puzzled me. I said sorry for the offense even when I couldn’t figure out what wrong I had committed.

I don’t like feeling this way,

I don’t want to get anxious because of someone.

I don’t want to justify myself to anyone.

It has taken me a long time to find peace,

To find self-love,

To know my worth,

To let love in despite being wounded.

What about Heather? Why are you loved so much? What’s the mystery? Why are people writing to you?

Can someone, anybody explain?

Challenge

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    My heart broke so much reading this. I too have apologised when I didn't do anything wrong, just to keep the peace. It's ao exhausting when we always need to justify ourselves to someone. Always remember to put yourself first. If anyone needs your love, it's you. It's you who needs your love the most. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Heather has been a bright beam of light for a long time on Vocal. She writes amazing stories and has a heart of gold. You are new here, it takes time to build yourself and make connections. A broken heart takes time to heal. Just love yourself while healing does its work. I really believe that the right thing comes to you in its own time, rushing it never works. Your question might have been hypothetical, but still, it begs an answer.

  • This is Deep 🥹♥️📝💯👍I hope you feel better…

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great letter!

Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.