Writers logo

Dear Dana

Letter to another Creator inspired of Heather Hubler's "write me a letter" challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
Dear Dana
Photo by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

Dear Dana,

Thank you for being a generous guy with your time and feedback. You are a positive, solid rock of a fella and although we only know each other through our work and our comment-conversations, I'm rather fond of you. I figured I'd steal Heather's letter challenge idea to write to a few choice people. I won't be writing to everyone but have chosen a few and right at the top of the list was you. Okay, you may not have been top of the list. I mean, Kayleigh is Scottish...so she's up there higher. Dharrsheena has been a follower since day one...so she's up there. Heather's up there...Kristen...Brin...Celia in the Underland...Naomi...Mackenzie...Kelli...there's a lot, sorry. But, you are up there somewhere at least.

That's the important thing.

Think about all the people I missed out. We old guys should stick together and not fight over the trivial.

Let's not get into the blunt details, Sir!

I wonder, pal...if I could take the opportunity to ask you a few questions. I say few, but I've not really thought this through so it may just turn out to be one question.

How do you come up with ideas for your writing work? I know you spoke a little about your photography in the interview the awesome Cendrine conducted with you, but just wondered.

Do you come up with a cool, funny, creepy, sad, scary or thrilling idea and roll with it or plot the eff out of it until it is completed?

I always wonder what people do - more so than I should but it's because my approach is so insane. Like a monkey on crack chasing poo around on a stick that another monkey on speed is carrying and the idea is written on the poo. Or something.

I sometimes plot. Sometimes don't.

Sometimes I spend weeks on a poem. Sometimes seconds.

It's really a mixed bag. I've never been a fan of being too rigid. I've always felt, rightly or wrongly, that it would stiffen up my creations and make them way too formulaic, but maybe that's an excuse. Maybe having more structure would hone them.

I don't know. One of the stories I'm most proud of, infact both stories I'm most proud of that I entered into the Unspoken Challenge, were more or less completed in a relatively short space of time. But, I think I lived the story in my head before I started writing it.

Anyway...How does the great Crandell do it? I know we've got similar backgrounds in content writing...I wondered if you ever tap into that.

I find if I'm writing a satirical piece or a non-fiction, non-poetic one, I definitely do.

Anyway.

Yeah.

What is your favourite fish to catch? Is there a fish you have not caught yet but would love to?

Do you think I would look good in a sombrero?

I have two hats, aside from baseball caps, that I've found I look nice in, and yes one of them is a stereotypical bonnet. I don't care. I love my heritage.

There you go...a few more questions than just one.

I just want to say, please continue to fill all of the lives of the people that follow your work with your humour, wisdom, advice and supportiveness.

Regards,

That Scottish Guy

PS - If anyone reading this is annoyed or upset that I have not included their name and link, I am sorry. Maybe I'll write you an apology letter with great adventure and mischief.

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: I have already put forward two entries for Heather Hubler's lovely challenge, which you can find out about here.

Her idea, inspired me to do this letter to my Vocal bud from across the water, Dana Crandell. Please take a look at his profile here, as he is a wonderful writer, fully of cleverness, wit and sage advice:

You can also take a look at my profile here.

PromptsShoutoutInspiration

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    I missed this piece, Pal! Probably when I was taking a little mental break… What a genuinely incredible and stand up guy you are! You are such a shining light here on Vocal and this platform is a special place because of you! Love this letter you wrote to Dana! Great questions and looking forward to reading his reply. 👏🏽💫💞✨🫶🏼✨

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    I read this when you first published but didn't get to comment. What a lovely letter to such a great writer and encourager. I'm so glad he responded! Wonderful stuff indeed :)

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    https://vocal.media/writers/dear-paul-kg420ucm

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Awww I love this! (Pleased to be on your list, pal ;D) What a great idea. I missed this the first time round. Dana's response letter lead me here!

  • No apology needed, my friend.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Great / fun letter to Dana. Process stuff was really interesting .. “plot the eff out of it?” made me laugh! I liked your monkey poop analogy even though I don’t exactly get it. I hope he writes you a letter back and also asks you to about your process in more detail!

  • Test8 months ago

    Aw First of all Dana is a mazing-always so supportive an open! Brilliantly written, funny and very, you! Secondly, thank you for the mention! Was not expecting that at all! In answer to your question...Think you know how I roll! 😁 But most gets written in my head, walking down the street, in a lull at school...long before it goes anywhere near a pen ;)

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is great, and hilarious in parts. What a wonderful letter to wonderful writer and human. Well done.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Well, now! I truly don't have the words to express how surprised and honored I am to read this, buddy. I had to take some time away from Vocal yesterday to work on a project, so this was a great way to start my morning. To be included at all with the likes of those you've listed is more than a dinosaur like me could ever hope for. These questions are worth answering properly in another letter, so I think you may have really started something here. I will go ahead and say, judging from your description of your process, we are very much alike. That really doesn't surprise me. So, please, allow your fellow poo chaser a little bit of time to respond and I think you might enjoy the answers. Thanks so much for this!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Excellent - picturing you in a bonnet!

  • Awww, you remembered! The first pieces of yours that I remember reading was the piece about your Nonna and the piece about making a typo. From then on I've read almost everything that you've posted! Might have missed a few though when you weren't sharing them in the FB groups anymore. But so grateful for Vocal notifications because I was back to reading your work! And yes, I think you would look good in a sombrero!

  • Hehe this made me laugh, thanks Paul ! ✨🙏🕊️

  • Excellent 📝💯👍♥️

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.