Writers logo

Creating Community

my goals for 2024

By Bella NerinaPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - January 2024
28
Creating Community
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

I almost didn't write anything for this challenge, because my resolutions for Vocal are the same this year as they've ever been: read and write.

When I first found Vocal, I saw it as a chance to get over my fear of sharing my writing. I thought back to my experience as a creative writing student at Uni, the anxiety I'd feel before submitting my writing to be workshopped by the class. I'd lie on the floor, hands over my eyes, waiting for someone else, a family member, friend, to click submit. "Did you do it? Oh my god, I can't believe you did it. I'm dropping out immediately." I never really got over the fear.

I thought, that, that Vocal would be a chance to click submit myself. To practice detaching myself from my writing enough that I can share it without all the dramatics.

So my goal, as it's always been, is to write. Whether that be for challenges, or simple musings, poetry or short stories. To write and post on Vocal and do it all without lying on the floor with my eyes squeezed shut.

It's not a new resolution, for 2024, however, and not one that I feel accurately represents my goals for this year in particular.

My other main aspiration as a user for this site has always been to use it for my own enrichment. In an age of endless scrolling, mindless entertainment, where everything feels made to feed you dopamine and little else, Vocal feels like such a special little pocket of the internet where I can feast on endless creativity in lieu of social media's junk food. I hunger for it, I feel better for it. And yet, I still so rarely do it! So my goal, as ever, is to read more on here.

But again, that's not my new year's resolution.

My resolution for 2024, the whole reason I wanted to write this post, the thing that, right now, is exciting me the most, is commenting.

Let me explain: last year I checked my Vocal account after not being on it for a few days, and found myself staring at a number of notifications. Out of the blue, I'd received a handful of comments on my old stories. And not just any comments (though any comments are great comments) but thoughtful, personalized comments.

I couldn't believe it. I was so excited I read them all multiple times, and then rushed to tell my Mum and my boyfriend about them. Someone liked my stuff! Immediately, my mind was racing with ideas. What could I post next? I should fix up that old short story and publish it. Maybe I could finally write that poem I'd been daydreaming about. The possibilities were endless. I felt like I'd just found Vocal again for the first time. I read through bunch of stories on the site and bookmarked my favourite ones in my browser so I could go back and read them again. In all the excitement, however, I didn't return the favour. Not as much as I would have liked to, at least. I'd give a story a heart and eagerly move onto the next.

But thinking back to how motivated and passionate those comments made me, I can't help but think that what will really make my time on Vocal this year great will be spreading that same enthusiasm. I want to comment as much as I can. I want to write out thoughtful reflections, respond with that resonated, with what I loved. I want to keep that excitement about Vocal, about writing, alive.

This year, my goal is to be part of a writing community.

So I'll see you in the comment section.

Community
28

About the Creator

Bella Nerina

Australian. Writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake3 months ago

    Simple words but a great idea! Excellent!

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    Hello, I am happy to discover you and read your motivations and fears. A comment does go a long way if it's sincere and I vow to give you my time and honest feedback.

  • Robbie Newport4 months ago

    Sounds like a good plan Bella, hope your writing does well this year with this community mindfulness intact.

  • Alena Whittle4 months ago

    Amazing Creating a community Read Read best blog: https://www.dissertationhelpexperts.co.uk/

  • Test4 months ago

    Stellar effort! Keep up the extraordinary work—congratulations!

  • Jeremygames4 months ago

    Creating a community is always very important.

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    Great story. Not commenting was my mistake early on. I didn't understand the importance of it until I got some really positive feedback and the penny dropped; this is a community where communication and sharing is the key. I don't comment on poetry much. I don't feel qualified.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Good luck on your goals, keep on writing and reading and find your confidence. Congratulations

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    "Vocal feels like such a special little pocket of the internet where I can feast on endless creativity in lieu of social media's junk food." Couldn't have said it better myself. I feel the exact same way. There's a lot of what you wrote that I relate to... probably all of it. Not that I'm in any place to give advice, but I think you should take more risks with your work and hit submit. For no other reason than to get over that fear. Even if it's a poem only three people will read. Think of it as your character development arc 😌

  • Danielle Mosley4 months ago

    Very good work

  • Test4 months ago

    Vocal is pretty great for its community. The comment shave helped me so much! Looking forwards to seeing you enjoy more of the collegiate spirit! 🤍

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I relate to the lying on the floor bit so much. Vocal has changed me to the point where I was sitting on a piece yesterday and *looking forward* to posting it. The encouragement here is good medicine.

  • Mattie :)4 months ago

    Hi Bella. I'm Mattie. I joined Vocal last year. You and I seem to share a similar perspective. I'd love to keep in touch and be like creative writer sparring partners if you're up for it. Take care :)

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Welcome to the community! You have a new subscriber and I'm looking forward to some lively discussions!

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Yay! So glad to hear that you’ll be more active this year, Bella. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.