Writers logo

Compilation of my 'In Eclipse' challenge poems

*

By Heather HublerPublished 20 days ago Updated 6 days ago 4 min read
14
Created with NightCafeStudio

Hi there :) I thought it might be a good idea to gather my 'In Eclipse' challenge pieces together in one spot as a sort of compilation or pillar post as I've been publishing so many in short succession. (Sorry for the recent bombardment of notifications to my subcribers, lol!!) I feel like the latest ones are getting lost in the shuffle though (which I know is how most of us feel about our work anyway). I hope you don't mind this indulgence.

Along with haikus, senryus and epistolary poems, acrostics have to be one of my favorite poetry forms thus far. The constraint of the form fuels something in me to fit the puzzle pieces together. Place the words just so. And tie it all together with the theme of the main word. I love it all :)

Without further ado, here are the poems I've published so far (I'll add to the list if I write more...who am I kidding...I will write more).

~

1) Ever glow - I wrote this one in the midst of the stomach virus hitting our house and claiming its victims one by one. I had no sleep and was not sure if my intent really shone through, but I wanted to feel productive (or a bit normal at least), so I published it anyway. Plus I desperately wanted to use the image. LOTR vibes, anyone?

2) Born from ruin - In researching and thinking about ideas for this challenge, I was struck by the tenacity and the beauty that results from forest fires. It was interesting to find all the species of flora and fauna that thrive in post-burn environments.

3) Are you sure? - I couldn't help but poke a little fun at the suggestion or the mindset perhaps that questions the legitimacy of just about everything anymore. The idea that the solar eclipse could be staged or faked, intrigued disturbed me, so I ran with it.

4) Winds of change - For this piece, I focused on the meanings behind easterly winds in different cultures and how I wish they would bring in a much needed change in this current political and social climate.

5) Euphoria - Well, the nerd in me wanted to use some sort of chemical compounds, and this rap style, euphoric, rave poem was born :) Get that bass thumpin and that heart rate pumpin!

6) Brackish collision - I loved the idea of estuary being my first 'e' word in this piece, and upon doing some research on the geography, appreciated the blending or 'collision' of two worlds, fresh water and ocean water.

7) Take shelter - This was born in frustration at the attitude/mindset of teens and those in their early 20's which includes all four of my spawn right now. They know it all, and I know nothing, lol!

8) Roadkill - Not sure where this one came from other than searching for 'e' words, but it sure gathered strength as I began to flesh it out. It's an attempt at social commentary and using my voice to vent my frustrations with the political leaders and media.

9) Elderberry hedgerows - I really wanted to use the word elderberry in this one, lol. But it lead me to a piece on our responsibilities as stewards of this planet and how we are sorely failing (in my opinion).

10) An endless appetite - If you know my work, it is not a surprise that this one popped out. I often explore the more combustible or darker side of relationships, and this one was no exception. I think it speaks for itself.

11) Midnight absolution - I feel this one could be about any kind of relationship, yet I had the bond between mother and child in mind when I wrote it.

12) A new era - This piece was inspired by the wonderful song, Easy, performed by Lionel Richie and The Commodores. I've always loved this one. And of course, Lionel could sing a phone book (or a contacts list nowadays?, lol) and I'd listen.

13) Sweet 'n sour - I was playing around with this one for awhile, challenging myself to use one word per line and still have meaning. Whether it worked or not, I'm unsure, but I do know I want some cotton candy now, lol :)

14) Unattached - I fell in love with the idea of writing a piece about how animals can be affected during a total solar eclipse, thinking nighttime has arrived. I ended up choosing the Great Egret (wonderful 'e' word) and began to explore their mating habits. We have lakes in my area that are home to this graceful bird, and I've always appreciated their beauty.

15) To the moon - Well, I was perusing 'e' words and 'educate' popped out at me (sorry, not sorry for the wordplay there, lol. IYKYK). I've no idea where the rest came from...hahaha!!

16) Perhaps... - I wrote this one after hearing a song called Space in My Heart by Miranda Lambert and Enrique Iglesias on the radio. It just put me in a creative mood :)

17) Voices raised in unity - I needed a win the day I wrote this, some kind of feel good vibe that I could share and hopefully keep the momentum going. And what better way to do that than with an upbeat earworm, lol.

18) Where evergreen grows - Really not sure where this came from as it was supposed to be about happy childhood memories in the summer, but alas, mine tend to be a bit darker. Oh well, I did try!!

19) Glory days - One of my recent poems was supposed to be about summer days when I was a kid/teen, but it turned a bit dark, so I redeemed myself with this one. Bring on the nostalgia :)

~

Thank you for checking any or all of these out!! I've been quite enjoying this creative distraction.

Much love,

~H

VocalProcessInspiration
14

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.6 days ago

    So happy to have a place to find all of your wonderful entries! You've truly outdone yourself on this challenge 😍😍😍 I really loved learning a bit about each piece as well! Love to know how your brillient mind works 🤗

  • Anna 11 days ago

    Omg, you wrote so many! Where did you get all these inspirations😯

  • Oh wow, you've already written 10? I know I've been reading them all as you publish them but it didn't seem that many to me hahahaha. Looking forward to reading the new ones!

  • Daphsam19 days ago

    Wow, this is a great comprehensive list, time to get reading, thank you for sharing.

  • Thavien Yliaster19 days ago

    "Born from Ruin" I know I still need to comment on that one. Plus, nice little library You've made here. Reminds me of one I made a year or two ago. Holy schmoly, I've been on here for that long. Goodness...

  • Kendall Defoe 19 days ago

    A lot to critique...I mean, read! 🤔

  • I'm glad you pulled all these together. Quite a portfolio! To my surprise, I think I liked Euphoria the best.

  • Cathy holmes19 days ago

    Thanks for sharing. Seems I missed a couple. I'm all caught up now though.

  • Dana Crandell19 days ago

    I, for one ,am glad you compiled these. Now I can make sure I don't miss any of them! Good to see you having fun with the challenge! -big bro

  • Paul Stewart20 days ago

    Love this...Great way to collate your awesome work with the running theme together. Also...completely missed one so it helped me get a chance to read it!

  • That’s a great collection! I’ll read them!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.