Writers logo

Boundaries and comfort zones

This is not a test

By Anna TorresPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Boundaries and comfort zones
Photo by Simon Zhu on Unsplash

2023 was the definitive year of change for me. 2024 will be the year of metamorphosis. A transformation of the utmost certainty will take place because it must. I have been running in slow motion. I have been standing still and wondering why I haven't moved an inch. I was always better when I was working towards something. I am at my best when I am motivated and ambitious. I love working towards a goal and establishing more goals when I advance. I love writing poetry and this platform has helped me tremendously in overcoming my insecurities. I have a fear of feedback because I am always seeking perfection when I write. I know this is meaningless because perfection doesn't exist but I am always in search of it. I want to write something that will stand the test of time, something people will speak about it decades from now. I want to write something akin to an epiphany, something that changes people's perspective that they didn't see coming. I want to write a poem that I'm so insanely proud of. I want to write the next great novel. I want to write a story that absolutely must be told. Fear and judgement has kept me from attempting my very best. I always believed my best was never good enough so I hardly even tried. I was afraid of what others would think of my work but how can they read what I've written if I never take that plunge? How can I become legendary without taking that gigantic leap off the precipice? My creative journey has always been solo but without including an audience, how will I ever progress? Writing must include other writers and feedback. Vocal media has helped me in overcoming the first obstacle which was just simply writing again. I had writer's block from 2019 to 2021. Putting pen to paper is easy. Getting the words out is also easy to accomplish. Risking myself by putting my words onto a public platform helped me grow and develop my potential. Learning to take constructive criticism and feedback is something I am still adapting to. Reading material from other writers is a goal of mine so I don't compare myself to others. Each of us has a different story to tell and we all have something so diverse and unique to contribute. Each of us has our own special voice and technique and by sharing that gift with others, we can transform ourselves into the best version of ourselves. I believe we all go through evolutionary stages to become what we already know we are. We all know how capable we are; we just don't test those boundaries and we don't jump into those frigid waters. Some of use never push ourselves out of our comfort zones but we must in order to achieve what we know we can. There is a belief that we can accomplish wonders by simply having faith and losing our fear of heights. That first step is never easy but each consequent step becomes easier because we are already flying. In order to get over my fear of nonexistent perfection, I have to try to my best and hope someone out there can connect with my words. I want my poetry, my stories of fiction, to speak to people, even if it's just one person. I want to inspire the way I have been inspired. Words are the building blocks to creativity here on Vocal media and I want to explore the unknown with these very words. Who knows what undiscovered poems lay hidden in the dark recesses of the universe? Who knows what fictional stories lay dormant in the far corners of our very own minds? We will never know until we try. In order to try, we must get over the fear of failure, the fear of falling. What if things don't work out? What if they do? What if I have the potential to be as great as I want to be? Well, the universe is beckoning me. Who will join me in this monumental crusade?

VocalLifeInspirationCommunityAdvice

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test5 months ago

    Well done!

Anna TorresWritten by Anna Torres

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.