Poets logo

Emerald Eyes

Undeadly dead

By Anna TorresPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Like
Emerald Eyes
Photo by Colin Lloyd on Unsplash

In the background of every formal thought, that's where you'll find me. Where the colors all bleed together and drown out every sound, that's where I'll be. From Babylon to Taiwan, look and you will see. From Medusa's head to Caesar's bloody bed, there is only you and me. I'll devour you whole while your ghost is still alive. A paragon of deviance but your perfection is still up for debate. Epitome of disruption, paradigm of disappointment. I've given birth to essential ideals but your death dictates their destiny. I can feel the tremors of trepidation. I've come too far to recede back into those waters. The trigger you represent doesn't make you a martyr. I let you provoke me into a hysterical state. This allowance pushed me into a toxic and malevolent place. You picked the time and I rose to the occasion. I activate the weapon you handed me in this corrupted situation. The ignited impulse to self-immolate. There aren't enough apologies to sever this much hate. To the stars, to the sand, we traveled far just to end up back under this dome. The inevitable truth is that we are all alone. Your emerald eyes captivated me once. Once was simply enough

performance poetrysurreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.