Writers logo

Big Dreams

in young minds

By Traci E. LangstonPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Big Dreams
Photo by Drew Perales on Unsplash

My teacher looked down at me with a condescending smile and that nod with a slight head tilt that adults get when they are trying to placate a child. She didn’t believe what she had just said to me. But worse than that she didn’t believe what I had said. Not that she thought I had lied, but that she had no faith in the statement I had made to her.

I was in fifth grade and my English teacher had had us write essays. I had written poems and stories and little things in the grades prior to this but this felt real and serious. I took my time, I proofread my work, I edited it until I was thoroughly happy and satisfied with what I had created. I was proud of myself because for the first time in my life I felt like a writer. That is what I told my teacher that day as well. I was a writer and one day I was going to write a book. Her class and this project had instilled in me the confidence to do so. I was on my way to changing the world at the age of ten. And then she gave me that look, that smile and that nod.

For an instant I believed her. Not her words but what she conveyed non-verbally. Maybe I wasn’t good enough. Maybe my becoming a writer was a silly childish dream. Maybe I couldn’t do it or worse, maybe I shouldn’t. I felt it on every level physically and emotionally, I was being crushed by the opinion of one adult.

But then a tiny spark in my mind whispered that maybe she was wrong. Maybe she didn’t know everything. Maybe I really could do it. My parents always said I could do whatever I put my mind to. My mom always praised every poem and story I had written up till that point. They believed in me. I could believe in me too. So I did.

I didn’t tell my teacher that. I let her have her smug manner and attempt to destroy a future I saw clearly in my mind. Maybe she thought she was doing right. But that day my future was decided. I was going to be a writer – and I was going to dedicate a book to her.

Now here I sit at my computer writing about that fateful day. At the desk where I do all my writing. Next to the wall holding framed copies of the covers of my books. I smile as I think of the interviews I have done, the books I have sold, the countries where my readers reside. A small yet not condescending smile and a little shake of my head instead of a nod. As I look around my office at my bulletin board of future book plans, the dry erase board where I am plotting out a storyline and the business cards that say “author” I know one day I will write a book that I feel fitting to that dedication and hopefully some other little girl will go after her dreams no matter what a single teacher says. I don’t remember what that essay was about, but I know it was good.

InspirationAchievements

About the Creator

Traci E. Langston

Writing can be therapy, insanity or both. Here is my mind, my dreams, my fears, my thoughts, my life laid bare to share with you. Enjoy the journey into what is at once my blog, diary and world, and don't forget to tip your guide.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Traci E. LangstonWritten by Traci E. Langston

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.