Writers logo

I Will Change the World

one vocal essay at a time

By Traci E. Published 4 months ago 3 min read
4
I Will Change the World
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

I want to change the world. That is one of the main reasons I write. Now you may ask, how can one person writing essays change the world? Well, it has to start somewhere, so why not with my words?

Wars and violence have had impact on history and humanity but protests, both peaceful and not so peaceful, have resulted in major changes both of thought and action. Many wars have been fought over religion, yet it is the words of Jesus and others that have changed how people live.

There have been racial riots, brawls and fights throughout the history of America trying for change but it is the words of Martin Luther King Jr. that we all know. His “I Have A Dream” speech calling for equality and strength of character shaped the views of many then and since. Ghandi led peaceful protests to enact change in India by calling for non-violence through his words. Lincoln’s Gettysburg address had us look at the history of our nation and where we hoped it to go.

When Armstrong stepped onto the moon we sat in awe around our televisions but his “that’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind” thrilled everyone on our planet and emphasized the magnitude of the event and inspired generations to reach further than they had ever dreamed. And when President Bush said “I hear you” after the attacks of 9/11, we knew he did.

Words matter. The verbal and the written word. Words make us feel, think and challenge us to be more. They bring confidence to some and fear to others. There have been many fights for censorship and attempts to challenge freedom of speech.

Writing words down we have preserved the words of Socrates, Dickens, Poe, and our own families. We have their words to learn from and decide who we want to be. To find our way and our place in the world we often turn to words.

We are thrilled with the receipt of a birthday card. We are comforted by the receipt of a get well or sympathy card. We come into this world with birth announcements and leave with obituaries. We receive jobs from resumes. We invite people to major events with wedding invitations. We end marriages with the written word as well.

As babies our progress is measured by walking and talking. We can express ourselves and go places to share our words. We learn our letters and how to read before we learn anything else in school. The importance of words is vital to who we are.

We cry as family members forget the word to identify who we are. If they progress in their dementia and forget how to speak, we feel the pain of their limitations because we fear that one day we may be unable to express ourselves.

Language is a gift. Words have power and we wield that power. Some wield it recklessly while others refuse to use it to its greatest advantage. It can be used for good or for evil. The choice is ours. I know that power and I respect it.

Through every word I write, I hope I can reach someone. Maybe I will amuse, educate, challenge or give hope to someone. I put my words out into the word for others to read.

I hope my words live on long after I am gone so I can affect other generations. Words provide us with immortality. With our words, we can all live forever.

InspirationVocalChallenge
4

About the Creator

Traci E.

Writing can be therapy, insanity or both. Here is my mind, my dreams, my fears, my thoughts, my life laid bare to share with you. Enjoy the journey into what is at once my blog, diary and world, and don't forget to tip your guide.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emmy B4 months ago

    Love this! So true.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.