Writers logo

Angie’s Artefacts: III

Rain ebbs & flows on Scarlett dinosaur fossils…

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 28 days ago 2 min read

Breaking news at the archaeological dig! A fascinating fossil appeared a few brief days ago! Dinosaur bones! Joe Patterson’s rappin’ slammin’ poem Jurassic Prison has me actually enjoying dinosaurs… a surprising, new experience in my longish life. No, I wasn’t wandering around with the dinosaurs! I narrowly missed them, for which I’m eternally grateful.

They wanna see the raptors, they wanna see Rex, but if we were free this isn’t the place they’d wanna be next.

***

A while back, this delicate treasure was discovered in a petrified forest, which makes perfect sense. Bugsy WattsEbbs and Flows is beautiful to behold… a wonderful meandering journey taken by kindred souls… beautifully uplifting.

I must be a birch tree;

dwarfed by the mighty ashes, maples, and redwoods,

but still here,

a quiet and steady

guardian of the forest.

Our paths collided

and so we walked together for a time.

A long time.

***

Recently, after a heavy downpour at the excavation site, an unusual object glimmered in the sunlight… washed clean by the rain and now rested in clear view. Poppy’s heart wrenching tale of Scarlett is precious indeed! Poetry is Poppy’s usual art form, but this emotive story is of great archaeological value and benefit. It sheds light on hidden, often unseen aspects of life, but very real all the same.

It was the kind of summer that has a frustrating, unavoidable heat and I had the type of depression that steals smiles and gift wraps self-hate. It was accompanied by the sort of anxiety that strangled my vocal cords and made my heartbeats as deafening as a gunshot. Suicidal thoughts often crept up on me like shadows in a candlelit room.

She was in most of my classes and for seven months straight I wished I could be her.

***

Also revealed in a storm that same day, was Donna Fox’s Rainy Day poem. The entire team of archaeologists rejoiced and downed tools to celebrate in style. Any fossil of Donna’s is wonderful to behold. I love the rhythm and rhyme of Rainy Day… what an excellent subject!

Sipping my warm brew

I am soothed by the sound of you

The patter of your drops

Rattling on roads and rooftops

***

Well, I’d better head off and join the crew! We’re flat out… yes, you guessed it… lunch time! 🙃 Catch you next time!

***

The previous report on finds at the Vocal archaeological dig, can be found below.

ShoutoutCommunity

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading, especially fiction and poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 😳

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

Painting Pandemonium Top Story February 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Rachel Deeming28 days ago

    I loved the tone of this, Angie and some I've read, I think but others I will check out. Made me chuckle!

  • I've read all of these before except for Bugsy's poem but now I've read that too! Thank you so much for this collection!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)28 days ago

    AHHHH! Angie this is sooo kind of you!! I am flattered to be honoured here and appreciate you too much!! Thank you for this and I am so grateful to you for digging this pice of mine!! (pun completely intended) 💚

  • Poppy 28 days ago

    Thank you so so much for your kind words Angie and thanks for the series too. I love the archeological language, so entertaining!

  • Caroline Craven28 days ago

    Ha! So good! What a fab way to showcase people’s stories. Nice one.

  • John Cox28 days ago

    Great intro to some excellent writers via their writing! Thanks for sharing, Angie!

  • Bugsy Watts28 days ago

    thanks Angie! glad to have made an artifact :)

  • D.K. Shepard28 days ago

    Great recommendations, Angie! Thanks for excavating!

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Written by Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.