Writers logo

7 Tips and Games for Battling Writer's Block

My personal journey when the block strikes.

By DaphsamPublished 5 months ago 3 min read

7 Tips and Games for Battling Writer's Block
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

OK, it's time to sit down at the computer or your pad of paper and create a masterpiece. Right?

Not that easy!

I used to get stuck on the idea of creating incredible artwork every single day. Then, a day would come when I painted awful. Frustration would tug at me, and I would think I had lost my creative talent.

Now that I have picked up writing, the same thing sometimes happens.

I thought, "Today will be the day I write something so amazing; it will be an internet success!"

OK, OK, that is the naive, hopeful creator in me who thinks my creations will be amazing.

By Sarah Lachise on Unsplash

But on those days when nothing happens to me, my mind is like an empty ghost town with tumbleweeds blowing in the wind.

How do I change the mood?

Here are a few ideas that have helped me when I'm struggling with writer's block:

By Marcela Laskoski on Unsplash

1. Music

I listen to a lot of movie soundtracks. When I listen to music for writing, I choose soundtracks that fit my mood.

It could be Top Gun, Inception, or Aquaman- it depends. Then I listen to it for a bit and start writing down words that pop into my head as the music plays. With those words, I find a prompt that will spur me to write more.

2. Youtube

YouTube has a tremendous amount of superb live screensavers. I use these to look for a scene that fits my mood: a fireplace in a cabin, a raging snowstorm, a tropical paradise, or a romantic beach scene. I leave the scene playing out, paying attention to the details, sounds, and emotions that stir me.

I began to write using word prompts that could work with the live screensaver. This technique helps me develop the five senses when writing a story or poem.

By Carlos Torres on Unsplash

3. Images

I use images to help formulate a word prompt within the picture to help me start developing a story. Like with the YouTube screensavers, I'll use word prompts that could connect with the photo, and that visual image allows my mind to start formulating a story.

By Sincerely Media on Unsplash

4. Walking

Other times, when things are not working out, I take myself away from the desk and walk. I listen to music or the sounds around me and take deep breaths.

Exercise or physical activity helps reduce the effects of stress and anxiety that you may be feeling because you can't produce anything on paper.

You will feel better; when you're feeling good, you can start writing something.

By Drew Beamer on Unsplash

5. Quotes

I enjoy reading quotes; sometimes, having quotes can get you into a thoughtful mood. Pick a book, newspaper, or magazine and read for a bit. It will put you in the right mood to see if you can become creative.

By Glen Carrie on Unsplash

6. Word Prompts

There are a host of word prompts out there. There are so many that I need help to pick the right one. So I make it out of a game.

  1. Pick ten words from writing prompt sites.
  2. Write down the words on separate scraps of paper.
  3. Fold them up, then toss them in the air.
  4. Choose three folded papers.
  5. Use these as your word prompts for your writing warm-up.

Created in Canva by Daphsam

7. Word Association

With this game of connecting ideas, feelings, and objects to words, I use the mind-mapping illustration below. Again, I create a spider web that comes into my head by using a word prompt. Setting the timer to five minutes, I begin to write. I don't question myself as I do this. When the timer is up, I study my mind map and see if potential stories or poems unfold.

By Unseen Studio on Unsplash

Ultimately, we're trying to have fun here; writing will only come when we get excited and feel passionate about something, so these are some of my ways to keep it fun. Keep writing, and good luck with your journey!

Writing ExerciseWriter's BlockProcessInspirationAdvice

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Mark Graham5 months ago

    All good tips, but what works for me is believe it or not I find a small chore that needs to be done like sweeping the floor or dusting the furniture.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    Absolutely anything can house the seed of an idea, anything at all. They're everywhere. Sometimes we just need a hand spotting them!

  • Excellent tips, Daph. Thank you for sharing these.

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Thank you for the tips! I have trouble getting back to writing when I have been away for several days!😊💕

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    All great tips and sources of inspiration for me as well! I enjoyed this story tremendously.

  • Xine Segalas5 months ago

    I love the idea of using the screensavers! So many wonderful ideas that I will l come back to time and again! Thanks for the tips.

DaphsamWritten by Daphsam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.