Writers logo

4K Ramblings

On reaching 4000 Total Reads

By Mother CombsPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
15

Yesterday, I broke 4000 total reads. It seems like yesterday, since I last wrote about hitting the 3k milestone. I’d like to share some of the thoughts and ramblings I’ve had since the last time I wrote.

  • Writing is fun but hard.
  • I never would have made it this far without Dharrsheena. Not only does she read and encourage everything I write, but she makes me smile so much. She’s a friend to everyone. The sweetest person on Vocal I have yet to meet.
  • I am now a co-admin in the group Vocal + Assist. It occupies some of my time during the day, but I enjoy meeting and making friends with other Vocal Creators.
  • Six dogs will drive you bonkers.
  • So will six baby chicks living in a nesting box in the house.
  • You learn more teaching than not. For that matter, you remember more doing than not doing. Get out there and write. Offer to help brainstorm ideas with a friend who has writer’s block. Do anything. Just don’t sit there and do nothing. Doing nothing will get you nowhere real fast.
  • I don’t know what I hate the worst, the heat or the cold. Otherwise, I love all the seasons. I would like Winter and Summer better if the temperature was more like Spring and Autumn.
  • Children will break your heart.
  • Children will heal your heart, too.
  • I can’t decide if I want fajitas or pizza for dinner tonight.
  • Electrical shorts in houses can make your electric appliances do some weird things. A short in my daughter’s overhead light was causing my kitchen appliances not to work at all. It also fried my landline phone. I'm glad we tracked that down and fixed it.
  • The movie Strays was not a kids' show. I repeat, do not let kids watch that movie.
  • Five Nights at Freddie’s was a kids’ show. That was just freaking tame.
  • Vocal is a fickle b*+@&. Yeah, I said it. I just bleeped it out.
  • If you don’t sit down and write for a little bit every day, you’ll have a more challenging time writing in the long run. Daily practice helps the words flow more easily.
  • Learn new words. Use Apps. Read a dictionary. Read a thesaurus.
  • Get silly once in a while. Have some fun. Don’t always write so stiff. Or be like me and write silly most of the time…
  • Interact. I cannot tell you enough to do this. Learn people's names. If they read your stories, read theirs. Click the hearts. Try to comment on their stories. Reply to their comments on your accounts, and sometimes theirs. Writers used to gather in Inns and Pubs and discuss all things literature. We now have sites like Vocal and Facebook groups. Writers are meant to support each other, to be friends, and to gather to discuss things. So COMMENT, COMMENT, COMMENT!!
  • Don’t feed the Muglies. Let the Muglies starve their selves.
  • Lift your fellow Vocal Creators when they doubt their selves and feel down. We are a Writing Family and should support each other as much as possible. Only we truly understand the struggles that a writer goes through.
  • Step out of your comfort zone sometimes. Challenge your mind and write something you wouldn’t usually write. You’ll be surprised at the results.
  • Remember to take the time to enjoy your real life. Your family, your friends, and your pets. Go to the zoo or the movies. Read a book, a real one, for a change. Go out to eat. Do something outside. Just get away from all your devices for a while.

I could ramble on for another 600 words, but I think y’all get the idea. This article is just a rambling piece. If y’all would like to connect with me outside of Vocal, you can join the Vocal + Assist Facebook group.

Until the next milestone.

Happy Writing.

LifeInspirationCommunityAdviceAchievements
15

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    Sage counsel. About to head out to work in the garden. Some volunteer belladonna needs tending.

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Enjoyed your ramblings very much, Sharon! Well done on cracking through another milestone! Here's to the next one!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Loving your ramblings!!! Love the hearts and comments too!!!

  • Alisa İnnokate8 months ago

    Congratulations! I believe you deserve better!

  • Congrats on hitting 4K

  • You just keep racking up those reads! Big congratulations to you on 4000!

  • Awww, you touched my heart and made my day! You gave me a big bear hug with your words! Thank you so much! 🥰🥰🥰 Also, wooohooooo congratulations on hitting 4k! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊 So what did you have for dinner? Fajitas or pizza?

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Six dogs and six chicks! Awesome! 😁 Well done on 4K and I enjoyed this little getting to know you piece slash writers tips. Well done! Ps I’m a big film buff… strays - hahah haven’t seen it but saw the shorts.. Saw Five nights at Freddy’s last week. Could only give it 1.5 stars out of five. Had potential but very wishy washy and not terribly fun, funny OR exciting. I enjoyed Megan much more and there was more of a social commentary to that too! Here’s to 40k lol! 😅😁

  • Addison M8 months ago

    Ramble on! Congrats on the milestone. That's awesome, and some great advice here as well.

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    Great advice, Sharon!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Fajitas. So much, dharrsheena! Real life, yes, the good, bad and ugly.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    I enjoyed your ramblings. Congrats on hitting 4k

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.