Wheel logo

My Review of "Propella 4.0 Single Speed Ebike"

A nice commuter but is it for everyone?

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

I generally say that you can't really go wrong with any ebike. They are relatively useful for all use cases. The problem is trying to figure out what you're going to be using it for. When I saw the Propella 4.0 single speed ebike I had a few reservations about it but my goodness was it beautiful.

I think it was the look of the bike that had me from the very beginning. It's matte black with blue lining all over the bike. The frame of the wheel has a blue outlining that really jumps out at you. The seat cushion follows suit with some blue lining. To add a little more subtle touches they made the bike chain white. It's definitely a looker and that's one of the big appeals to this bike.

It also doesn't look like your stereotypical ebike. The wheels are thin like a commuter bike. The battery is not jarringly big. It looks more like a water bottle on a regular bike. This minimalistic look of the bike will make the average person think that it's a regular slick looking bike.

All of these features also has purpose though. You're not inundated with tons of features on your bike so it's really light. It's only about 36 or so pounds which is a little more than half the weight of the average ebike. This also means that the motor doesn't have to be big to move this lithe vehicle. That's basically why the battery isn't so big.

I like the fact that I'm the only one that has one as well. I'm one of those people that hate it when you go out and someone is wearing the same shirt as you. Often with vehicles we see this. When you're on the road there's less individualism because everything looks the same. This is a feature that a lot of people might like about this bike. That is until it becomes popular.

That might be for a while though. There's a few things that are holding this bike back from reaching the masses. Due to the minimalism of this bike a lot of the power and range of the bike was sacrificed. This bike goes a maximum of 29 km/h or 18 mph. That's hardly fast but when you're on such a minimalistic bike it actually doesn't feel too bad.

This minimalist aspect of the bike also makes it quite easy to maintain. If you know how to fix a regular bike this bike will be no problem for you. A lot of the features on this bike are commonly seen in regular bike with the exception of the motor and the disk brakes.

Don't forget that the wheels are fairly narrow so going really fast on roads with gravel might prove scary. We often forget that there is construction in the city and a lot of city planners don't really look out for bikers interests when they approve of things. So you'll definitely need to get something to cushion your derriere for all of the potholes and uneven surfaces of the city.

Speaking of wheels, that beautiful blue faring on the rims is thick and you can definitely feel it when you're riding on a windy day. It's not too much but it is quite noticeable. Still it's fashion over function who cares, at least you'll be noticed by motorists. That could be considered a safety feature.

I got the single speed bike. After I made the purchase I had buyers remorse while I was waiting for the bike. What if I realize my city has more hills than I thought. It definitely does but the Propella team assured me it wouldn't be a problem.

After I received the bike I understood what they were telling me. Yes the motor does struggle going up so it won't go full speed up the hill but it will go. The speed is halved when you go up a steep hill but it's still possible. Sometimes I wonder why ebikes even have gears when you consider the gears are to make it easier for you to pedal in the first place. That's why we have a motor. I remember when I had my Lectric XP ebike. I never changed the gears and so I was glad I bought the single speed this time around.

After riding this bike for a few months I started to realize what this bike is really for. The range of the bike is probably realistically 30 km or 19 miles. That's not a huge distance. If you live deep into the city this bike is kind of a no brainer. It's got enough pep to get you going anywhere you need to go. That is if your destination is a maximum of 15km or 10 miles because you have to ride back.

People out in the country should really get a more conventional ebike with thick tires and huge battery. You'll have to ride it out for longer distances and don't really have to worry about as much traffic as city dwellers.

When it comes to transporting parcels this bike is pretty good but only for small amounts of weight. If you start carrying 30 plus pounds of stuff then your motor is going to start struggling.

You got to be realistic with how you're going to be using your ebike. Many of us want the most power and longest range but really do you need that much power and range? If you're in the city you can't really fly like that without the fear of getting hit by a car. Maybe your grocery stores or work are quite close and this bike might make your life that much easier.

This is also a relatively inexpensive ebike. In the US it will cost at around a thousand dollars however I believe the price is going up because of inflation. If you live in Canada there are added fees everywhere. The cost kind skyrockets up to close to $1700. That's not including the new price increase.

Overall, I would buy this bike again if I had to make the choice again. It's been a reliable and easy to maintain. Those looking for a bit of fun and not going far distances will really appreciate this bike. I'm not going to lie though, I really wish it did have more range to it. There's still some range anxiety when I use this bike. Still the speed is okay for my taste. I will have to give this ebike an 8 out of 10. It's pretty good value for what you're getting.

gadgets
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.