Wander logo

Wandering The Streets Of Glasgow

Some Observations From My Recent Scottish Sojourn

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
6
Street Art Near The Clyde and St Enoch's

Introduction

I spent four days in Glasgow in Citizen M with Fiona for a break from everyday life and work. I often go to Edinburgh but this was the first time in Glasgow for a very long time. This is going to be a very haphazard piece with random observations and photographs (do we still call them photographs?) from the time I was there.

I wasn't sure how I would do this as certain parts seemed to demand stories of their own, but those places have their own websites so I will just mentions them, along with my opinions and then a link to the relevant website so you you can find out some real information, pictures, and video from the source.

I took some Instagram shots in Citizen M like the one below:

Their website for you to explore is here

The Buchanan Galleries that mentioned inspired this recent story of mine.

So as you can see, I was inspired by Glasgow from the off.

Where Next?

We initially checked out some of the West End, there was an Oxfam Record Shop but there was no vinyl that I wanted. I always say I have everything, in fact, more than I need.

We traveled there on the "Clockwork Orange", the Glasgow Underground that has a single fare for all destinations. The "Curlers Rest" pub has an interesting history board on its wall that you can see here.

Hillhead Library, also on this road provided the inspiration for this plagiaristic poem.

The Next Day

The destination was the Kelvingrove Art Gallery, so we thought we'd try the bus, but finding a bus stop was not a pleasant walk. We ended up wandering through the hellish concrete and glass wasteland of the Glasgow Financial sector.

I was ready to give up.

It is genuinely awful, made me think of London, soulless, featureless, and just after your money.

We finally found a bus and got to the Kelvingrove Gallery, and that place is jaw-droppingly brilliant. There is so much in there. It is massive, imposing and full of history and art. Every corner seems to give you another surprise and it is a free ride. If you are ever in Glasgow for even a short period of time this has to be a place that you visit.

One of my Instagram posts of this amazing place.

One of their art displays inspired this story of mine.

And you can discover more about it online here.

After leaving Kelvingrove it was back to Byers Road, the Curlers Rest and I found the Botanic Gardens which were stunning. Here are some Instagram pictures for you followed by their website.

The Final Day

I now knew where to avoid and checked out Argyll Street, Princes Square and the waterfront. I was disappointed that I had missed Banksy's "Cut and Run" at the Gallery of Modern Art, but it was still worth a visit.

This metal peacock is at the entrance to Princes Square which is a collection of shops and restaurants, but the peacock did impress me.

There was a lot of very impressive street graffiti, and I can hardly put pen to paper but this is a beautiful work of art somewhere near Queen Street.

Though a lot of places are very expensive I was should at the excellent value and service offered by Waxy O' Connors a labyrinthine building or organic wood and steps with an obvious Celtic bent,

Their website is as impressive as the venue which you can visit here.

Conclusion.

I have missed lots out, so this may be a part one, but I will be back in Glasgow at some point.

Music is "Last Train To Glasgow Central" by Billy Connolly

pop culturetravel tipstravel photographyphotographylisthow toguideeuropeculture
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    This was so fascinating! I love how Glasgow inspired so mamy pieces of writing!

  • What a wonderful trip, Mike. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Nice work! I’ll have to visit Glasgow one day!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.