Wander logo

UK Holiday Spots Outside London

Holiday recommendations within the UK as recommended by a British person

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
UK Holiday Spots Outside London
Photo by Scott Evans on Unsplash

A lot of people online have said they've always wanted to come to the UK. They want to go to London. I see the attraction that London brings. Tourists love the double-decker buses, the palaces, and the Big Ben. There's something for everyone in London. London's diversity is what makes it a cultural hotspot around the world. It is a city that celebrates diversities and over a thousand cultures.

As much as I love London. It can get overcrowded and the crime rate is high. This is the same as in many big cities. As a Brit, Travellers are missing out by staying in London. To get the full mind, body and soul of the UK, you should travel outside of London. There's wonderful places within all four countries of the United Kingdom. In this list, I've recommended places that many brits travel to if they have a local holiday. I've been to some of these places many times.

Blackpool

By Josh Couch on Unsplash

Blackpool is a seaside town in Lancashire. My first holiday as a child was going to Blackpool and I've been many times. My nan had poor health, but she would do everything in her power to go there every year until she passed away. There's a lot of things to do in Blackpool. The Blackpool Pleasure Beach is a great theme park. The three piers, the tower and many arcades are all accessible via its unique tramway. Because there's a lot of competition between local businesses, a lot of stuff is quite cheap here. If you want other seaside places in the UK, places like Bournemouth, Weymouth and Skegness are popular.

Oxford

By Nikita Ti on Unsplash

Oxford is only 20 minutes by train from where I live. It is home to some of the most prestigious universities in the world. Oxford's architecture gives it a unique character. Like London, it has many quirky places. The last time I went to Oxford, I went on a walk around the University Parks. Westgate Shopping Centre was recently renovated with rooftop restaurants. It meant for a while the high street was empty as all the shops moved to the Westgate. Oxford has also been good for me as a writer and a bookworm. The only book shops in Banbury are Waterstones and charity shops. Oxford has a plethora of bookshops. I know we have Amazon, but I always feel happy being in a bookshop.

Birmingham

By Brian Lewicki on Unsplash

If you love London, the chances are you will love Birmingham just as much. It's one of the biggest cities in the country. I've been to many great concerts at the NEC Arena. The Bullring Shopping Centre is marvellous. I've had some lovely day trips here. Other big cities include Manchester, Newcastle, Edinburgh, Cardiff and Liverpool.

Lake District

By Massimo Virgilio on Unsplash

Lovely countryside and plenty of good spots for hiking. The Lake District is a wonderful area in the UK and is worth seeing for its natural beauty. I really think that it's underrated. I remember going there and being amazed by it the first time I went. We rented a wonderful cottage for the week and enjoyed the boat rides. You should go to Bakewell and try the Bakewell tarts, which are famous cakes over here. I remember some great bakery places here and some nice local markets. The Peak District is also great too.

Devon & Cornwall

By Federico Respini on Unsplash

I've put these two counties of Cornwall & Devon together. If you want to experience the life of an Englishman, here is your best bet. I have them together mainly because I sometimes get them mixed up because they're together. Most of the times I've been camping were either in Devon or Cornwall. I know many who dream of moving to these counties because of the seaside and countryside. Both counties also have fresh seafood and scones. Great place to go on for long walks and just exploring the beaten path. There's a lot of great places to pick from like Ilfracombe, Woolacombe, Clovelly, Tintagel and Barnstaple to name a few.

europe
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.