Wander logo

Camden Market

Favourite markets in the world

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Camden Market is one of the best markets in the world, and one of my favourite places in London to go to. I’ve been there many times and each time it offers something different and feels like I’ve travelled the world. I have been to lots of countries, but I have never seen or been to anything like Camden Town. It really has something for everybody and things you might not even think off. What I love about the place is the diversity.

By Zck_ on Unsplash

You couldn’t miss the iconic Camden signs even if you tried. The whole area is bustling with colour. If there’s anything you’re looking for, there’s a chance Camden might have it. Himalayan salted lamps, Japanese sencha, handmaid handbags and vintage vinyls, it’s all there. Every time I go there, there’s always something new. There’s always a huge variety of food and drink to please everyone. I look forward to going to this place again.

By Reiseuhu on Unsplash

As a place that is very open minded, the whole place is full of character. There’s probably lots of places and stalls I don’t even know about, but I think I’ve seen a lot of them. I always remember the orange juice stands with clumps of oranges all around it.

I was sad to hear that Chaboba had closed. There were an old bubble tea place that I used to love going to, but that is sadly gone now. They do however have a store in Wembley that I go to often when I’m seeing a gig there.

By Ice Tea on Unsplash

The food scene here is amazing. It’s much more than your regular burger and chips. There’s an alleyway dedicated the Asian cuisine and most of them will let you try their chicken. Some of the food stall owners are great characters in themselves like the Chinese man who sang his heart. It was like something you’d see from X Factor or Britain’s Got Talent, but don’t expect a yes from Simon.

I’ve had great chicken, sushi, and curries from the stalls over the years. Never had food poisoning once from there. I love how there’s food that is quite uncommon like African, Caribbean, Ethiopian and I think there were a stall selling Egyptian food. This is a great place to try all-time-favorites and also discover something new.

My favourite shops from Camden, that I always try to look in when I am include:

Camden Tea Company

I often see them do pop up stalls in conventions, and their teas are really nice. They've got a super mixture of teas and flavours including green, black and fruit teas. The selection of loose teas are healthy as well. I enjoy their range of Japanese green teas and would reccomend their Lady Earl Grey.

Camden Lock Vinyl

I've bought some great records from this shop like Whitesnake's self-titled album, Killers by Iron Maiden, and one by UB40. I also bought some vinyls as gifts to friends and family in this shop as well.

Moomin

Moomin is a cute and lovable character created by Tove Janson. The Moomin shop in Camden has so much merchandise for Moomin that I didn't even knew existed. I had a lovely Moomin dairy from there.

Wild Horses Music

I remember buying some albums in this shop that went on to become some of my favourite albums ever which included the likes of Absolution by Muse, Without You, I'm Nothing by Placebo, Violator by Depeche Mode and Kate Bush's Hounds of Love.

Japan Craft

I think this one is a more recent shop. As someone who is interested in Japanese art and culture, I thought this shop is awesome. They sell a mixture of stuff like pocky, plushies and books.

Turkish Delight

I've never bought any of the lamps, but I love going in here because of the colours and the atmophere. The lights are beautiful and if I lived in the London area, I would have probally ave owned one by now.

On top of great shops and places to eat and drink, they've also got a great nightlife. Before the lockdown, they had regular events and gigs. One day isn't enough to go around the whole area.

activities
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.