Wander logo

True Freedom

A road trip alone across the USA.

By Sue BahrPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
There is so much beauty waiting to be seen.

What is your comfort zone? The place you feel most comfortable, usually in a place you know well, surrounded by friends and family. Then one day you wake up and say to yourself "I just want to be free of everything that is holding me down in life". The idea arrives to take a road trip. I had taken a few vacations with my family and seen a few of the wondrous things and sites in my home state of Wisconsin, but I had always wanted to see more. Suddenly opportunities came my way and one day I told myself "do it". I set off to see as much of the United States as I could in one year on a very small budget. Within that time period, I managed to see the Atlantic Ocean in Florida, cross over on a southern route to San Diego on the Pacific Ocean, and then return to Wisconsin on a winding northerly course.

By now you are asking, "Where does the freedom come into this story?". Imagine what it would feel like at this very moment to step out your door and travel by yourself anywhere. I was lucky enough to have an RV and in the first few miles, I felt a lightness that I hadn't felt in years. Negative thoughts were pushed aside as I played music on my CD player and looked forward to new experiences, and adventures. Free at last! No one to tell me when to eat, sleep, work, play, or even what clothes to wear. Free to decide which road to take, where to eat, or not eat if I wasn't hungry. Free to spend time alone, or with other people. Free to see the tourist traps, or just to sit beside a beautiful lake, or awesome scenery, or listen to the ocean's waves breaking against the shore. The choices were unlimited.

This is true freedom. I believe everyone should take at least a few days, a week, a month, or even a year like I did and get away from that comfort zone. Comfort zones create routines, anxiety, fears and staleness in our life. Even one day of doing exactly what you want to do with no input from others will lift your spirits and revive your self-confidence. You can do anything if you put your mind to it, even experience what it means to be truly free.

There is so much more that I learned on this trip, but that is for another time. If life has you down, or the routines are actually making you physically ill, then maybe it's time for you to experience a day at least, of freedom. Once you feel it you may never want to go back to that comfort zone again, but even I had to go back eventually.

It has been twenty plus years since this wonderful trip. As I write this I am about one year away from repeating this feat. I yearn to experience true freedom again, but not in the USA. The world is calling me. Not for any lofty purpose, but just to be who I am. An observer, thinker, and seeker of knowledge. That's who I am!

Returning to college at the age of 62 I pursued the study of psychology getting my BA. I have always loved to learn, and this area of study allowed me to finally define who I am. It also answered a question that has nagged me since childhood. Why do I do what I do? Now the question has become why do we do what we do? To answer that question I must immerse myself in as many cultures as I can.

What will come from this trip is unknown to me. I see glimmers of possibilities, but that is the future and right now I live in the moment. I just know that I still have enough time left in my life to once again experience TRUE FREEDOM.

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.