Wander logo

Trailer Trash

The worst misconception about full-time RVers.

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2022
20
Photo by neil kelly from Pexels

When I tell people “I am a full-time RVer,” almost 95% of the time I get a quick eyebrow raise and some praise. A lot of them will say, “Wow! I wish I could do that” or “I bet that is a cool lifestyle.” Overall, I receive many supporters. However, that 5% erks the $h!t out of me and have equated me to being “Trailer Trash.”

Not that I need to explain myself to others, but I have a Master’s Degree, successful career, traveled to more than eight countries (so far), and have had a debt-free life for five years. By the way, I accomplished this long before I started living as a full-time RVer. Of course, these hasty judges do not know that. All they see is what is on the surface: I live in an RV.

There are three common misconceptions I hear about full-time RVers:

Only criminals live in RV parks.

Hearing this one has made me spit wine out of my nose. If you know me, you know I love my vino, but not in my sinus cavity. In the short time I have been living this lifestyle, I have met so many very successful (and wealthy) individuals. Last year, I met a CEO of an insurance company and a teacher who instructs English online to Japanese students. Both work out of their RV full-time and live a nomadic life simultaneously by traveling the country. Last month, I met a hero who was a POW for five years in Hỏa Lò (or more famously known as “Hanoi Hilton”). He sits back and enjoying life as a retired military member and he deserves some major kudos. Where I am currently staying, I have met at least two millionaires and they are also full-time RVers simply because they “love the lifestyle.”

If you don’t have a house, that must mean you’re homeless.

Also, a very incorrect statement. My home is simply on wheels and if you are remotely a part of the RV community (even as a weekender), you should know the motto: Home is where you park it.

You must be “Trailer Trash.”

Of all of the misconceptions I hear about full-time RVers, this is probably the most ignorant and most insulting of them all.

According to Merriam-Webster, “trailer trash” is defined as:

“poor people who live in trailers.”

I think that definition barely skims the surface of what some people really perceive what “trailer trash” is. Although I do not usually refer to Urban Dictionary (except for a good laugh), it seems to have the best description of what people consider to be “trailer trash.”

According to Urban Dictionary, “trailer trash” is defined as a:

“Derogatory description for person who seems well-suited to residential life in a mobile home park and is distinguished by poor hygiene, foul language, slovenly or slutty clothing, and general ignorance. Recreations include drinking malt liquor in lawn chairs under tattered R.V. awning and teenage pregnancy.”

Let us take a moment to dissect this claim, shall we? I’ll even us myself as an example:

  • "…Person who seems well-suited to residential life in a mobile home park…” Yup and proud of it! I love the RV park I currently reside in. We have community bon fires, live music on the weekends, support one another, I have no yard to mow, and it takes me 20 minutes to clean my house now.
  • “…distinguished by poor hygiene…” I admit that I need to do better flossing my teeth.
  • “…foul language…” I cuss like a sailor because I’m a f*cking sailor. Having an RV does not take my filter off anymore than it already is.
  • “…slovenly or slutty clothing…” Have you been outside in the Florida heat lately? I’m sweating in places no woman ever should. If you succumb to under-boob sweat on a regular basis, you’d rock out life in these clothes too.
  • “…Recreations include drinking malt liquor in lawn chair under tattered R.V. awning…” So what? If people want to drink malt liquor, go for it. Some people like hard liquor and others like spritzers. Me? I’m a bit of a wine snob. Do I day drink in a lawn chair? Sure do! You can often find me reading a book or watching my dog chase the airplanes while I sip out my Cabernet Sauvignon. And guess what…It’s the same thing I did on the back porch of my house! As for the “tattered RV awning,” that also doesn’t matter. I see homes with broken shutters in nice neighborhoods, toys scattered on mansion lawns, and folks walking around with holes in their jeans because it’s “stylish.”
  • “…teen pregnancy…” I never once met a pregnant teenager in an RV park and even if I did, I’m sure the last thing this new mother needs to hear is being called “trailer trash”.

People are too quick to judge a book by its cover nowadays. Before labeling someone, remember: Get to know him or her first. Your perception may be completely incorrect and you may be missing a connection to a wonderful person.

Originally published on Medium and CrystalsWritingRoom

humor
20

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Freddie's Lost Treasures9 months ago

    Keep continuing to live your dream and do not let the outside world distract you from what it is you want. Only your opinion matters when it comes to your life. You may enjoy this story: https://vocal.media/wander/discovering-new-cultures Thanks for sharing.

  • sara burdick2 years ago

    absolutely love this.. i have been living nomadic for 4 years, and my neices always ask me .. why does autie sara not have a home, is she homeless.. i just laugh because I know I am happy. i am going to find you on medium!

  • brooke vecchi2 years ago

    love this as someone new to the rv life with my son! cannot wait to read more definitely following

  • Makes me think of the absurdity of Jordan Peterson's "clean your room" analogy. I would say the opposite of what he believes is true. Those I know who are the most neurotic about their environment tend also to be the most disordered in their mind. Life is complex and chaotic. That is, after all, what makes it beautiful. The use of one's environment as a pneumonic device to order one's mind would seem to me to fall under the logical fallacy of attempting to better oneself internally by scrambling to order all that which will forever lie outside of one's locus of control. Cleanliness is okay, but neurotic fixation on appearances is another story.

  • Xena 2 years ago

    Love this! I actually want to live in a trailer, and I have wondered which of the people I know are going to think of me as trailer trash once I am able to move into one. Let me tell you, it’s going to be a step up from living in my mom's house!

  • Mark Graham2 years ago

    I wouldn't mind living in a RV or even a trailer. My dream is to get a 'Tiny house'. Great work.

  • Andrea Abbott2 years ago

    Interesting article. I’ve never traveled in an RV, let alone live in one so it was nice to get a better understanding. I like the benefits you mentioned, like less cleaning and bon-fires/exploration. Thanks for sharing! Btw if you’re into fiction, check out my story I wrote for the last fantasy challenge.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic wander humor! Definitely loved the read. Subscribed. Left a heart too!

  • Joan Gershman2 years ago

    "People are too quick to judge a book by its cover nowadays. Before labeling someone, remember: Get to know him or her first. Your perception may be completely incorrect and you may be missing a connection to a wonderful person." QUOTE OF THE CENTURY! I LOVE IT!!! Well written article with excellent points.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.