Wander logo

Discovering New Cultures

A Firsthand Account of Living In Cambodia

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
2
A Friendly Face

Living abroad can be one of the most rewarding experiences of your life. Not only do you get to explore a new country with its unique cultural identity, but you also get to immerse yourself in a different way of life. Cambodia is a country that portrays a beautiful blend of ancient traditions that continue to thrive in the present day. I had the opportunity to live in Cambodia, for quite a while now, and it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

Arriving in a new country can be intimidating, but my experience in Cambodia was the complete opposite. Locals were incredibly welcoming, eager to share their culture with me, and teach me the Khmer language. I was determined to learn the language, so I enrolled in a local language school, which helped me integrate into the community and gain a deeper understanding of the local culture. Speaking Khmer allowed me to interact more comfortably with the locals and access parts of the culture that expats might never get to see.

One of the things that stood out to me the most about living in Cambodia was the sense of community that I felt each day. Cambodia is a small country, and everyone seems to know each other, from the tuk-tuk drivers to the vendors at the local market. For me, this community spirit really showcased the heart of Cambodian culture and made me feel at home.

The food scene in Cambodia was also a highlight for me. I had never tried Cambodian cuisine before arriving, and it was an exciting experience to sample new flavors and ingredients. One of the dishes that I enjoyed the most was Chicken Amok, which is a type of curry with coconut milk and chicken. It was so delicious that I learned how to cook it myself.

One of the best parts of living in Cambodia is the rich history that surrounds you. Siem Reap, for example, is the gateway to the temples of Angkor Wat, which are the most famous destinations in Cambodia and should definitely be on your bucket list. These temples are an incredible work of art and engineering dating as far back as the 9th century. To learn more about the history of the temples, I took a tour with a local guide, and it was fascinating to see the intricate details and hidden symbols that are carved into the structures.

Living abroad does come with its challenges, and Cambodia is no exception. One of the things that took some time to get used to was the weather. As a person who grew up in a drier climate, the humidity was a severe adjustment. Another unique experience of living in Cambodia was the annual Water Festival, which is held to commemorate the end of the monsoon season and the beginning of the fishing season. The Water Festival, or Bon Om Touk, is a three-day event where locals come together to watch traditional boat races, fireworks displays, and attend cultural performances.

I was lucky enough to get a front-row seat during one Water Festival celebration. The energy in the air was electric, and the sound of the drumbeat and cheers from the crowd was contagious. It was an incredible feeling to be a part of such a vibrant tradition and witness the pride that locals had in their cultural heritage.

Living in Cambodia has also taught me about the importance of resilience and a positive mindset. Cambodians have a tragic history, and they have demonstrated remarkable resilience in overcoming adversity. Despite the country’s difficult past, the people I met were some of the happiest, friendliest, and most welcoming I’ve ever encountered. They taught me how to find the joy in the simplest things and reinforced my belief that a positive attitude and resilience can make all the difference in life.

Living abroad in Cambodia provided me with a unique and life-changing experience. From the kindness of the locals to the delicious cuisine and stunning scenery, there was never a dull moment. I learned so much about myself and about a rich and vibrant culture that I had never experienced before. If you’re thinking of living abroad, I highly recommend considering Cambodia as your destination. It’s a beautiful place with a lot to offer, and it will leave you with memories that will stay with you forever.

-----

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today. Please subscribe. I have plenty of upcoming articles on varying topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are greatly appreciated. Our monies collected in Vocal help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

humanitytravel tipstravel advicesolo travelnaturefamily travel
2

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi George9 months ago

    I do think that any country with a high cultural heritage can provide you with some of the most memorable experiences of your life. Every aspect of life there is meant to teach you something, I wish everyone the opportunity to experience rich culture.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.