Wander logo

Top Ten Reasons to Ride Public Transportation When You Travel

I was told not to leave the airport for any reason. But I did!

By Carol LabuzzettaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Image by Dimitris Vetsikas from Pixabay

A short story...

Image by David Mark from Pixabay

It was 1982. I had never flown on an airplane, traveled alone, or been to a foreign country other than Canada. I was eighteen. But in May of ’82, I boarded a plane that flew from Buffalo, New York to Los Angeles, California. Then, I flew from LA to Tokyo, Japan. My father, who had traveled during his time in the USAF, told me not to — under any circumstances — leave the airport. I called my dad and mom when I was on the ground in LA, in the airport. And then, I left the concourse and proceeded to board a bus, blatantly disregarding his advice.

What he didn’t know, and I didn’t tell him until I safely arrived home, was that I had to go from one set of buildings to another to board my international flight. The international planes, including JAL, or Japan Airlines, were located on another tarmac, necessitating the bus ride. That’s how it was in 1982.

Not to worry. I made my flight, got to Japan, met my then, boyfriend, and took a bullet train from Narita International Airport to a US Air Force base an hour away from Tokyo.

Buses and bullet trains were my first experience with taking public transportation when I traveled. And, I’ve continued to do so over the last fifty years!

Top Ten Reasons to Take Public Transportation When Traveling

1. It gets you where you need to go.

I had no choice but to get on that bus. It was the only way I was going to get to my plane. I said a silent apology to my Dad as I left the airport but I did what I had to do.

2. You meet nice people.

Since I also had to transfer my luggage on the 1982 trip, I struggled. I had a large suitcase that I thought would be checked all the way through to Tokyo but it was not. I had to pick it up and take it with me to the International Flight side of the airport and check it back in. Luckily, a businessman man in a cowboy hat carried it onto the bus for me. He knew I couldn’t lift it. I had to take a chance that he was nice and honest. And, he was!

3. You experience something different.

The bullet train was fast. It was exciting. Scenery sped by and we arrived at our destination much faster than if we took a car. Riding trains in Washington D.C., and The Netherlands has also been a positive part of my travel experience. You quickly learn how the turnstiles work and how to signal you need to get off.

4. You see some chivalry.

When we first when to D.C., in 2012, my son gave up his seat for an elderly lady. She appreciated it and I was proud of his manners. When we needed to exit the train to make a connection when we went to Arlington National Cemetary, the crowd riding the train with us shouted and parted and pushed to get us to the doors before they closed! A little overwhelming? Yes, but heartwarming too.

View of DC from the Postal Pavillion. © Carol Labuzzetta, 2012. All Rights Reserved.

5. You meet the locals.

We’ve been to Bermuda three times. On all three trips we road the public buses — which are pink — by the way! The Bermudians also helped us get off at the right stop and shouted to let us back on when we accidentally got off a stop too early!

You hear and see the local people living their daily lives. It is a peek into real life in a place you are just a visitor. The buses in Bermuda can be crowded and hot in the summer but it was worth it.

And, you might hear of some neat places to go to eat or visit.

6. Ride something other than a mode of transportation with four wheels.

We’ve ridden on ferries in Bermuda, and trains in the places already mentioned. Certainly, you don’t ride those every day unless they have them where you live. In that case, ride a mode of transportation that’s different for you!

Red Vespa scooter near a beach. Image by Dimitris Vetsikas from Pixabay

On our first trip to Bermuda, in 1987, we rented a scooter to get around the island. It was fun and we were able to drive on the narrow roads. I’m glad we did it then because I would not ride one in Bermuda now! There’s too much traffic!

7. Sometimes you question your decision to not take public transportation. This might be a reason to ride something more PUBLIC even if it's less convenient!

I took an Uber from a hotel in Rancho Mirage, California to the airport in Palm Springs. The driver had never taken a passenger to the airport before and missed the entrance. Did that make me nervous? Absolutely. I was not happy and started directing him immediately! I felt unsafe and that is something you might be able to avoid if you are with a bunch of other people. Or, maybe, not. It is something to think about, however.

8. It’s the only way.

Again, going to Bermuda, we learned that the only way to get to your hotel was from a “limousine service.” The buses there do not allow luggage, so when you need to get from the airport to your hotel, a limousine service is one of the few ways to do it. Of course, you can also hail a taxi. The limousine service usually incurs as many fairs as it can fit and is more likely to be a transport van of some sort. Still, it’s an experience.

Hamilton Bermuda, © Carol Labuzzetta, 2017.

9. It’s a fun way to people-watch.

There are all kinds of people in this world and using a similar mode of transportation as many others, you get exposed to them.

10. It’s easy to use a card for multiple trips.

Both in Bermuda and in The Netherlands we bought bus or train cards that worked for multiple trips over 3–5 days. It was an easy way to travel and you did not have to keep track of change or foreign currency to use public transportation.

In Bermuda, you just showed a punch card to the bus driver.

In The Netherlands, your card is inserted into a chip reader both when you enter and exit the train. Chip readers are found at each door to facilitate quick transfers.

In both cases, more days and/or trips can be purchased if need be.

While it’s sometimes nerve-wracking to travel to a foreign land and use its transportation systems, we’ve always found it to be both a fun and educational experience.

Scooters and bikes are plentiful in The Netherlands. © Carol Labuzzetta, 2016.

This article was formerly published on my Medium.com page. It has been briefly re-edited for posting on Vocal. Thanks for reading!

travel advicetravel tipsguidecultureactivities
Like

About the Creator

Carol Labuzzetta

Carol is an environmental educator who enjoys writing and photography. Using the science of awe, she has taught our youth to love the Earth for the last 20 years. Carol is inspired by nature, travel, and color. She is a published poet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.