Wander logo

The Journey

Travel or not to travel

By Thomas TerryPublished about a month ago 3 min read
The Journey
Photo by Dino Reichmuth on Unsplash

We all have different life experiences. Some of us were born and raised in the same town and have no desire to leave. Then others of us can't seem to stay in one place for more than a year or two. They are always looking for the next adventure or the next thrill.

Where do you fit yourself into these two groups? Are you a world traveler or a homebody? Either of these are great options for you to consider for your life. No two people were created the same and the thrill and adventure of travel are not for all of us. In fact, we can make our own thrill and adventure wherever we are living.

I love taking road trips to different cities. Whether it's a quick day trip or a longer weekend trip. I'm not a person who is really into nature or being outside and getting dirty so going and climbing a mountain or exploring a jungle don't fit my vibe or give me any excitment. However, I do love going to explore a new city and seeing how different people live in new areas. It always amazes me the way we all live different lives. Some people thrive living in the mountains while others need the hustle and bustle of city life.

By Tim Stief on Unsplash

I truly believe seeing different cultures and experiencing how different people live is so inspiring and can help us appreciate the way different cultures function. It's so easy to be scared because someone is different than you but as you learn to get to know people you see we are all humans on the same earth.

I recently took a trip to Atlanta, GA and I loved the culture there and walking down the streets seeing live music and people hanging out together on every corner. We were trying to find a place for breakfast but were in a time crunch and it was challenging to find somewhere without a line because everyone was out just wanting to hang out and enjoy each other. This is something I don't see a lot where I live so at first it was a bit intimidating but I think I actually love that about Atlanta.

By ibuki Tsubo on Unsplash

Seeing this inspired me to want to be more welcoming to others. We can so easily isolate ourselves from others and not be social. Especially me because I am so introverted. But there is something powerful about having a community of people to share life with.

I want to try not to find myself isolated in my own city but to continue to go out and explore new areas and new people. I don't want to be closed-minded and instantly assume because people live life differently they are doing life wrong. This may be a challenge but I think it is going to be worth it learning that this world is bigger than my small bubble.

Now what if you don't enjoy traveling? You don't have less of a life or less excitement if traveling isn't your thing. There are so many opportunities for you to learn about people and build a lasting community in your town or city. The most important thing is that we are not doing life alone. We are created to be in community with other people. So no matter if you are traveling the world or building your life in your city find a strong community to be apart of to help you do life.

~

Thanks for reading! If you like my content feel free to leave a like and subscribe so you don't miss out on my next post! If you want to support my work consider leaving a tip or sharing this post with a friend or two! I appreciate all your support it means the world to me! You can also find me on Instagram @rosesashumans

~

More stories to check out

volunteer travelhumanitydiycultureactivities

About the Creator

Thomas Terry

Hello, I like using poetry and music to help connect people and find the meaning of life. We all have our own unique stories and I want to share mine to hopefully inspire you to share yours!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a month ago

    it's important tp have a community. I would have thought Atlanta would be isolating

Thomas TerryWritten by Thomas Terry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.