Wander logo

Stuck In Concrete

Escaping from a concrete maze

By Craig MirandaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Frosty Sunrise

As quarantine and isolation keeps us contained within our walls, I’m witnessing a whole new world form just a few feet away from me. Sitting by my window, I’m unsure if it’s a different lens or perspective I’ve formed, or the fact that nature is truly showcasing its honest beauty.

Being a bit of an introvert, I tend to overstay my time indoors during this pandemic without taking in some fresh air, but on the day before Easter of 2020 that seemed to change. I woke up having the urge to get outside and put my muscles to work. As I stepped out of my concrete walls, I already felt the relief that my body craved, and I could feel my cells burst with adrenaline as I was ready to begin my run. Little did I know that Texas could still be cold in April.

As I could sense myself constantly feeling rejuvenated by nature, I ran through the twilight listening to Kygo on repeat, making sure that I reached my destination just before the sun would rise. Almost reaching the sun rise point, I pushed my cells to provide me with the last bit of adrenaline to finish the .7 miles I had left. Looking down on my Fit-bit and realizing that my heart rate was over 200, I was eager to continue pushing just to feel like I’ve earned the opportunity of watching the sun rise.

Reaching my destination, I was relieved that I still had the stamina to run those miles without taking a break. As I stepped onto the grass and looked beyond the trees, I could see the sun starting to appear and become more prominent between the branches. I stood there really appreciating the beauty of something that I truly take for granted every single day, but it wasn’t until I removed my headphones in which I understood and felt the difference in nature, compared to when I had my last run. I could hear, smell, feel, and see nature all at once! There wasn’t any noise pollution in the background that overpowered the singing of birds or the sound of bees. I could smell the wild grass, and the pollen which I knew would later undoubtedly irritate my sinuses. I could feel the sun rays pierce my skin, and warm up my body that was still chilly from running during an unusual cold spell. And as I looked towards the ground where my feet felt crampy from the run, I noticed a layer of frost that covered the grass. I was flabbergasted and grateful for the number of elements that were right in front of me. It was then and there I knew that I had to share this experience. With my family being on lock down elsewhere and afraid to travel, I had to capture this picture in order to make this moment that I’m witnessing even better knowing that I could share this simple yet deep experience with them.

It’s unusual how nature still blooms and shines light through the darkest times. Being distracted with so many mediums and thoughts around us, we tend to forget the beauty that’s right in front of us. Before the pandemic, I would hop on a plane or go on a road trip once a month, to learn about different cultures and experience new traditions. But being quarantined made me aware of the adventures and footsteps we need to experience in our own backyards. As cliché as it sounds, this picture reminds me that there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel- we just have to keep running towards it!

nature
Like

About the Creator

Craig Miranda

There's only 1 world, but 7 billion perspectives of it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.