Wander logo

The Flow Of Truth

Water is Eternal

By Craig MirandaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Selijalandsfoss

I’ve never been the best writer, instead I use pictures and videos to try and communicate a moment or experience that sometimes looks simple on the surface but has a deeper meaning below. I performed a slight edit to this picture on my iPhone by increasing the contrast and slightly shifting the blues towards teal for that icy crystallized blue to really pop out.

Water has witnessed so much through time. In this fascinating globe that we reside in, there has been a never-ending cycle of every single drop of water. Water in its natural form as a liquid, turns into a gas during evaporation and returns back as condensation, and during times of the year, freezes into a solid. Water is constantly changing but is never lost or destroyed in the process- it’s somewhat eternal. The same molecules have traveled through history for years and exists everywhere amongst us. It has heard every whisper, knows every secret, and is a part of every breath. The continuous flow of water through time is what this image reminds me off.

Selijalandsfoss is one of the most popular waterfalls in Iceland and is by far the most breath-taking. Since there is a path that leads behind the waterfall, I was ecstatic to witness a view that not a lot of people usually get. Unfortunately, due to the weather that resulted in the ground being covered in slippery ice- that path was closed off. Nevertheless, I saw a path with steps that would give me an elevated view of the waterfall, and so I took it. Grabbing onto some rope that was used as a railing, I dragged myself up the slippery staircase to finally reach this magnificent view. I will neither accept nor deny the fact that I may have fallen multiple times during my climb, but just know that my body was numb due to the cold weather and not any potential falls…

Looking down on an eternal stream over the cliff, made me retrospect on my life. The constant flow of water down the lip of the mountain represents the everlasting journey of life and the never-ending notion of always moving forward. The way the water crashes onto the ground depicts the turmoil and challenges that are obstacles in my life. But after the crash, there is a continuous stream that represents peace, love, and all the joys that life has to offer. This wonder of the world represented life from the start till the end in a magical form. Being able to absorb the moment and understand that this waterfall has formed over years and years of naturalistic mechanisms, made me realize that life is a challenge and with patience and determination you can always reach calmer waters.

As I could see a tour bus approach from a distance, I knew that this moment that I had to myself would come to an end. Closing my eyes, I took in one last breath and thanked the universe for such an opportunity, and then gave in and slid down those stairs rather than trying to hold my balance .

Witnessing a magical formation like the Selijalandsfoss waterfalls of Iceland, I had to capture this beauty behind the lens of my camera- but that too does not do it justice. Just being in the moment and engaging all your senses gave it a more holistic and wholesome experience. The opportunity of seeing the blue crystallized ice sparkle around the waterfall, the sound of the water crashing onto the rocks, the touch of the mist on your skin, made it a memory I would never forget.

nature
1

About the Creator

Craig Miranda

There's only 1 world, but 7 billion perspectives of it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.