Wander logo

Open Sesame - Fannies Emporium - A Morpeth Treasure Trove

In The Old Courthouse In Morpeth Is A Cornucopia Of Wonderful Things To Discover

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
6
The Front Door

Introduction

The last time I was in Morpeth I walked past an antiques place in an imposingly impressive building and liked the sign that said "Dogs are Welcome, and humans if they are well behaved" or something akin to that.

I borrowed a video from Northumberland Mudlarker that takes you through the place, but I will give you my thoughts on this place (and they are very good).

The building is the impressive Morpeth Court, which you can read about here:

Morpeth Court is a former judicial structure on Castle Bank, Morpeth, Northumberland, England. The structure, which used to be the entrance block for a prison as well as the main courthouse for the area, is a Grade II listed building

I am not into antiques at all, but a friend, either Julie or Alison, told me that Fannies Emporium was an amazing place to visit, so I thought I would drop in this early May Bank Holiday, but I wasn't expecting anything.

The use of the word emporium makes you think of vintage things, almost Dickensian.

Their website and Facebook page are below

This is What I Found.

As I entered I passed some furniture before ascending an imposing stone staircase. I really did not know what to expect, but even the stairway is impressive, just emphasising the sheer size of the building and I saw these two things as I walked up.

Coming further up I saw Tiffany and Michelle at the counter with a customer so I started to look at the glass cabinets which are full of old jewellery and the like, but this was just the start.

I went round the corner into a corridor full of interesting "stuff", I say "stuff" because I cannot think of a collective noun for everything I that was seeing here, and this was just the first corridor.

I then went through an archway into a big area and was surprised to see a display of vinyl records and music posters. This was properly presented in alphabetical order so you could find anything you were looking for (If it was there). Speaking to Michelle and Tiffany they told me it was run by the guy from The Beehive in Alnwick, where I love going and has a similar feel to Fannies Emporium but on an obviously smaller scale.

The next floor is being made ready to become a cafe and coffee shop, but you can see how impressive this place is and you can see the arches that lead to other rooms full of other amazing items for you to at least admire and even buy.

These are a few more pictures that I took, but you can see all of these on their Facebook page or website (links at the start of this article). There are lots of toys here, stuffed animals, cinema posters (some with funny dubious subjects) and it goes on.

I spoke with a few customers who had dropped in and spent a lot of money on things and were very pleased with what they had found.

Tiffany and Michelle are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about everything that is on display.

The place is a veritable adventure into so many pasts, and you can walk away with things that you find if you have a place for them in your home.

This is an amazing place, but I have included the video and the links to explore, but the west way is to actually visit.

Conclusion

Before I left I got into a conversation with Tiffany and her mum Michelle. I noticed a plague doctor mask and Tiffany told me that she loved masks, and the collection was hers. She then put on the plague doctor mask for me, and we talked about our interests including my writing.

I told her that her place would be an amazing thing to write about, and this is the result of that amazing place and the two amazing ladies that manage it.

I hope you have enjoyed reading this and Fannies Emporium is a must-visit if you are ever anywhere near Morpeth.

Thank you so much for reading

reviewvintagetravel photographyproduct reviewphotographyeuropecultureactivities
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Andy Potts11 days ago

    I spotted this place when I was in Morpeth a few weeks ago, but didn't have time to look in after my run (they might not have appreciated a sweaty, smelly mess stomping around, either!). Will have to check it out some time. I rather liked what I saw of Morpeth, though: the park is impressive, and it feels like a vibrant little town.

  • Christy Munson13 days ago

    You've gotten me thinking on how very different "antiques" are in most other parts of the world. Here in the US, "antiques" can only go back so far (unless we're talking something we're definitely not talking)... The idea being, for someone in England to go antiques shopping seems a whole other ball of proverbial and maybe actual wax! I had great fun strolling along with you, finding the finds you found. So thank you for the adventure!

  • kp13 days ago

    this place looks right up my alley! great share :)

  • If you're wondering if I laughed each time I saw Fannies, the answer is yes 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I enjoyed reading this Mike!

  • Anna 13 days ago

    Wow, what a treasure, you've found! Love that dog sign😅

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.