Wander logo

Nature's Artistry

Cherry Blossom Delights in Washington D.C.

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published about a month ago 5 min read
Like
Myself in 2021 (Cherry Blossoms)

It's Cherry Blossom blooming week in Washington D.C., a highly anticipated time of year that attracts approximately 1.5 million tourists annually.

In 1912, Tokyo gifted 3,000 cherry blossom trees to Washington, D.C. as a symbol of friendship. Despite initial setbacks, the trees were successfully planted along the Potomac River. This gift has since become an annual celebration known as the National Cherry Blossom Festival, attracting visitors from around the world. It symbolizes the enduring friendship between Japan and the United States.

As a native of D.C., I still feel a sense of excitement every year when I see the Cherry Blossoms. What makes it even more special is that each year brings a unique display of colors. Some years, the blossoms are more pink, while others lean towards a whiter hue. It seems that the weather plays a role in determining the colors. I vividly remember one year when it was raining heavily, and the Cherry Blossoms looked absolutely stunning. The scene was reminiscent of a romantic moment straight out of a French cinema.

Rainy and quiet 2018

Having visited the Cherry Blossoms for decades, I've come to learn a few interesting facts about them. They are notoriously finicky, making it difficult to predict when they will bloom. Sometimes it's in March, and other times it's in April. Mother Nature has her own plans for them. Planning a trip to see the Cherry Blossoms can be challenging, especially for those who aren't local to the area. People often book hotels a year in advance, only to find out that they've arrived a week too early or too late.

Curious about the costs of hotels during this time, I did some research today. The prices varied significantly, ranging from around $500 per night to an astonishing $8000 per night. It's quite a relief to be a resident of the D.C. area and avoid those hefty expenses.

If you're looking to witness the beauty of the Cherry Blossoms without breaking the bank on travel and accommodation, here's a suggestion. Consider staying in a suburb of D.C. and taking the metro into the city. Explore the surrounding areas in Maryland and Virginia to see what other interesting attractions they offer. Check how close the metro station is to your chosen hotel. Personally, I always opt for taking the metro to see the Cherry Blossoms. It saves me the hassle of parking and traffic, and there are several metro stops conveniently located near the blossoms.

One of my most memorable experiences of seeing the Cherry Blossoms was when I went at sunrise on a quiet Monday morning. It was a completely different atmosphere compared to the bustling parade days. As a native, I tend to steer clear of the crowds during the parade, but I understand that as a tourist, it may be an exciting sight to behold.

In the D.C. area, many hotels offer delightful pop-up Cherry Blossom cocktail experiences. It's a fun way to immerse yourself in the season's festivities. Speaking of cocktails, one of my all-time favorites I created when I was a mixologist in my former life, was inspired by living in this area during Cherry Blossom season. I wrote a post about it, along with a painting I created called "Ozaki's Gift." You can read it here. The painting I talk about in the post sold to someone in Barbados!

AI generated Ozaki’s gift cocktail

I don’t have a picture of the cocktail I created in 2017 but I did my best to generate an image. It was featured on the Spring Menu at Oleary’s Seafood Restaurant in Annapolis,MD and you can read about that restaurant here.

I remember wanting to do something with the theme of Cherry Blossoms on that menu. I was playing around with recipes and the first one I presented to the owner I called Ozaki’s Gift. I was very proud of that creation.

It had Green Hat Gin (one that was infused with Cherry Blossom and it was a DC based gin). It had Michigan Cherry tart liqueur, fresh lemon juice, and simple syrup. I remember tasting it and thinking it was almost there. It just needed something but I couldn’t put my finger on it. And then it hit me. Sake. Sake always ties everything together in cocktails. I learned that working in two Japanese restaurants formerly. And then it hit me…..holy shit! Sake is from Japan! Japan meets DC meets cherry blossom. It was perfect. Then I started doing some research on the cherry blossoms to come up with a name and Ozaki’s gift was born. Mayor Ozaki was the one who gifted the trees from Japan to D.C.

The Cherry Blossom bloom isn't just a feast for the eyes, it's a photographer's dream. The changing light throughout the day offers endless photo opportunities. As an artist, I find new inspiration for paintings every year. It's not uncommon to see photo shoots or even weddings happening under the blooming trees.

Ozaki’s gift

This painting sold last year.

I've painted countless Cherry Blossom-inspired pieces, and I know there are many more to come. So, if you find yourself in D.C. during Cherry Blossom season, take it all in - the beauty, the magic, and the fleeting nature of these gorgeous flowers.

Here’s some of my favorite shots from the last couple of years.

Yesterday 3/20/24
Yesterday 3/20/24
Me in 2021

2019
Capital Blossom

This painting sold this past January.

Here’s a reel from yesterday’s venture to see them. View it here.

Spring Fling

Mystic Sakura

Both Spring Fling and Mystic Sakura hang in a local business in the DC area and are available for purchase. Both are 16x20 and acrylic on canvas. Inquires at [email protected]

nature
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • JadenKristeenabout a month ago

    I get paid more than $140 to $170 per hour for working online. I heard about this job 3 months ago and after joining this I have earned easily $25k from this without having online working skills . Simply give it a shot on the accompanying site… Here is I started.…………>> Www.Moneypay1.com

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.