Wander logo

Mother Combs, You Asked for It

"I would also like to encourage my readers to share ten Christmas Facts about themselves with us. It can be whatever you want, as long as it concerns the Christmas season."

By Shirley BelkPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
3
Main Street Bethlehem in Burnet, Texas.

Okay, then, so here goes, Mother Combs, from your: A Christmas Visit With Mother Combs A Getting to Know me Article

1) I think Christmas is mainly for kids. Don't get me wrong, it's nice when families come together, but when there is no Santa to anticipate or prepare for; the appeal for me, is gone. Honestly, no bah humbug here, though.

2) I hate it when people send their Christmas wish list. I don't want presents from people who don't already know me well enough to know what I'd like...and I don't think you (my family and friends) should, either. It's rather crass, in my estimation.

3) Christmas memories have not all been good. People can act like donkeys and ruin a good day. Especially when alcohol is involved. Why do they wait until the one day in the whole year that families should truly be thankful and grateful to their Creator, to bray the loudest and make it about them instead of HIM?

4) People overextend and overspend on things instead of meaningful conversations and heartfelt love towards one another. I wish that could be wrapped up in a box with a bow instead. What would that look like...to be able to see how much you are truly loved and appreciated?

5) Is it just me or does Christmas begin in October and last through January? Retail stores and television commercials seem to think so. Even the radio stations. Incredulous! Disgusting! What a turn off for me.

6) I do love the Christmas movies...almost all of them. It's a Wonderful Life can't be beat. But I also love the Home Alone ones, too. I like Dr. Seuss and I think Jim Carrey did a superb job in the Grinch, but did anybody catch the key exchange at the party...that was a "swingers" situation going on...not appropriate for kiddos.

7) When I put a tree up, I usually have some kind of theme or color in mind. It could or could not be traditional My cats seem to like to rearrange my decorations, though. They have their very own amusement park from Mommie. But that's part of the fun for me, too.

8) One of my aunts used to make fruitcake every year. I miss her, but not the fruitcake. I don't like mincemeat pies, either. Do people still eat those in America? Or in other parts of the world? The same question arises about pear salad? And I'm never sure if on Christmas, if you should serve Turkey or Ham? Both?

9) Being single pretty much sucks at Christmas, but being alone, without your family would be worse. Remember the soldiers, the elderly, those that have lost a loved one by death or divorce, and those sick in the hospital, please!

10) The most meaningful Christmas I ever had was when I went to Main Street Bethlehem in Burnet, Texas. Like the pastor on the video says about his experience walking through, I also choked up when I reached the manger. It's unexplainable and altogether beautiful. It's what Christmas is and always should be about. I hope you get to visit one day.

I'm putting this into the Wander community because my number ten and the video explain that the place to wander at Christmas time is in Burnet, Texas. It is a walk-through replica village of the town of Bethlehem. As the video shows, there are actors in costume, animals, and a true sense that you are part of that epic time in History. They even give you fresh baked bread and hot chocolate as you make your way through. It's a spiritual journey and one that I will never forget.

reviewhumanityfamily travelculturebudget travelamerica
3

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Julygwynet4 months ago

    This is a great story. I enjoyed this story.I just published a new story . If you want to read my story then visit this link https://vocal.media/motivation/eternal-serenade-a-love-story-painted-by-the-sea

  • Mark Gagnon5 months ago

    I've been through most of TX driving buses including Burnet, just not at Christmas. I agree with many of your points including XMAS starting in Oct.

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    I've been to Burnet, Texas! Thanks for telling us more about you! I enjoyed reading this. :)

  • Number 5 is soooo true. I worked as a Retail Nutritionist for 5 years. And every year I had to endure the same loop of Christmas songs for several months more than 8 hours a day. It's a nightmare, lol. I enjoyed getting to know more about you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.