Wander logo

History and Hope

A tale of two Columbia's

By Tawanya HerbertPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
The Historic Five Points District (near the University of South Carolina)

My hometown of Columbia, SC is a city with a rich culture, a sinister, yet triumphant history, and an auspicious future.

Columbia, is home to the beautiful and expansive Lake Murray, the World Famous Riverbanks Zoo and the Columbia Museum of Art. Columbia is home to legendary musicians, civil rights activists, medical pioneers and historic firsts in our nation. It was selected as the capital in 1786, after the capital was originally in Charleston, SC the country's most infamous trading post for slavery. While that history will be forever woven into the fabric of who we are as a state, South Carolina and the residents of Columbia have a hemorrhagic emission of hope-as reflected in our state motto:"While I breathe, I hope."

From the campuses of Benedict College and Allen University(Historically Black Colleges and Universities-HBCU's), you can feel the palpable and earnest expectation of hope from the students. There is a reverence for the greatness that proceeded them, like that of Modjeska Simkins. As I traversed the campus of Allen University I came across the Historic Waverly Hospital, which was a well-respected facility that treated Blacks in the 1950's when other facilities would not.

A stone's throw from the two HBCU's is the Robert Mill's District. Robert Mills one, of many South Carolinians for whom there are a number of monuments and historic landmarks, was an architect who designed the Washington Monument at our nation's capital in Washington, DC.

Speaking of monuments, there are several around the city, like the one at Memorial Park, that pays homage to those who served our country and lost their lives. When I walk the streets of downtown Columbia, I see so many unexpected reminders of sacrifice, dedication, innovation and even emancipation! Some of them bring tears to my eyes, as I try to imagine the brutal and demoralizing situations my ancestors faced. But for every step I take that feels like my shoes have been traded in for cement blocks, there are steps I take that have me feeling as though those same shoes were infused with helium! I feel lighter than air as I swell with pride at the perseverance and the accomplishments of my ancestors.

There are also several spectacular murals throughout the city. Some of the murals are funny, some historic, and some inspirational. One of my favorites is "Leap" by Ija Charles. She says the following of her inspiration. “Leap was a representation of risk and taking action even when it can be scary,” Charles explains of her piece. “I just wanted to show that, no matter what obstacles we may face, it’s still worth the risk of backlash to make sure everyone realizes that Black Lives Matter and we as individuals deserve respect love and the same energy given to any other human being on this earth.”(Taken from an interview by Kyle Peterson, Post and Courier, September, 2020)

On one of the days that I trekked through the city to inhale the scent of history and hope, I came across several homeless people. As I struggled with whether or not to share this experience as a part of my city, I had to face the truth. The truth is, as much as I would like to gloss over what I saw, homelessness is prevalent in Columbia. It would be irresponsible of me not to acknowledge that there are people in our city who as surely as they breathe, they struggle. I pray for their safety and that they may be able to address and reconcile the issues that have brought them to this point in their life's journey. During this particular outing, my attention was also turned to the the churches and organizations doing their best to assist during this pandemic. I salute and thank them for their diligence.

Columbia, also known as Soda-City (for it's abbreviation COLA), is a city that effervesces with diversity, history and potential. The potential of what it can be resides within those who live here. There is something for everyone, from the buzzing Soda-City Market on Saturdays, to the lazy lake lounging days. Each day in Columbia is one filled with the life-giving force of hope. For as the motto says:"While I breathe, I hope."

Veteran's Memorial Park

Mural on the side of Richland County Public Library
Main St. Downtown Columbia

photography
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.