Wander logo

Del Norte, Colorado

The small town that shaped my world.

By JanellePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Eighth Street and Hermosa Street. (Grandma's House)

Del Norte, Colorado sits where the Rio Grande leaves the San Juan mountains in Southern Colorado in the San Luis Valley. It is approximately 60 miles from the NM border. Many times, people, even those who live in Colorado, have not heard of Del Norte. I must explain that it is a small town near Alamosa or South Fork for people to understand where I am from.

My Great-Grandfather was born here, My Grandfather was born here, my father was born here, I was born here. Time, a DNA test, and research have allowed me to understand so much more than I originally knew about my family history. My DNA test revealed that I have Ashkenazi Jewish genetic markers. My brother, who loves to research and read told me, years before I took a DNA test, that he believed that we might have Crypto-Jews in our family history. This was an interesting concept because, over the years, family stories ranged from our family being kicked out of Spain for being Pirates, to having connections to a castle with our family name on it. Crypto-Jews were essentially refugees who fled the Spanish Inquisition. To the outside world, they were Catholics but were secretly Jews. This is where some of the secret practices were performed that were not practiced by Catholics. One of the revelations was that of a medical nature. There have been many cancer cases in my hometown area, which has been connected to a genetic mutation that is in the genes of many Hispanic people who are of Crypto-Jewish ancestry. My medical record now lists my Ashkenazi Jewish heritage because of a higher risk for certain cancers. These gems of knowledge have really helped me to realize how limited family history can be. So many treasures and details fade away with each generation. My own child has never been to my hometown. I deeply regret this. I want her to know where her family comes from. Each of us is a special combination of a long line of humans and that is beautiful.

The welcome sign on the east side of Del Norte

My first 12 years were spent in Del Norte, Colorado. Del Norte is a small town of fewer than 2000 people in just under 1 square mile. The elevation is 7,884 ft; I remember the altitude getting to some of the visitors making them feel ill, as for me, to this day, I feel best at higher altitudes. I have more energy and breathe easier. I have severe asthma and I was amazed at how much easier I was able to breathe when I visit. I wonder if it has something to do with being born here and spending my childhood there. I remember the air being fresh and very cold in the winters, so cold that leaving the warm house would take the breath out of my lungs when the cold air hit my face. In autumn strong winds would come through the valley and beat the backs of our legs with dirt as we turned and covered our faces with our hands to protect ourselves from the wind and dirt.

The Rio Grande River runs through part of the town. As a child, I did not know how amazing it was to have the city park along the beautiful Rio Grande it just was the way it was. When I return, I am amazed at the beauty and the awe of the Colorado blue skies and the running River. Nature still intact. Deer were in town when I last visited in 2018. When I say IN town I do not mean just passing through town, but living inside the town, in small groups. Laying and grazing in old empty yards. Driving into town, I saw a deer walking calmly down the center of town. It trotted slowly without a care in the world. I could not believe it! My grandma told me on that visit that the sound of children was no longer present like it was in my childhood. The deer were making themselves at home.

Sangre de Cristo Mountains

One of my great Aunts and 2nd, 3rd, 4th cousins and on remain in my hometown. None of my main extended family remains. My grandfather passed away in September of 2001. My grandmother has recently moved to live near some of her children now living in Pueblo, Colorado. All 17 of us grandchildren have moved out of town or out of the state for more work opportunities. In many ways, all that is left in Del Norte are the images that I have taken while there and my memories. I am currently in the Portland, Oregon area now which is vastly different from Del Norte. I am always going to be a small-town girl at heart. It is still my goal to live in a more rural area on some land I can call my own. I credit Del Norte for much of who I am today. My family history is here, it shaped me, and Del Norte holds a part of my heart forever.

My Family name is Atencio. My Uncle made this in shop class. It resides on the outside of my grandfather's garage.

america
2

About the Creator

Janelle

I am a wife and mother. I love all forms of art. Creativity is my air.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.