Wander logo

A Step Beyond Heaven

My hike through Glacier National Park.

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published 24 days ago Updated 22 days ago 3 min read
2
Glacier National Park - Image by Author

I realize the title of this article may feel bold and even brazen to say, but in a way I do feel it’s justified and I will do my best to show and explain why.

I love to hike. It is a wonderful way for me to sink back into the world disconnected from the buzz and dings of electronics, the cry for attention on social media, and the distractions that always seem to find their way into our lives. Hiking is a way to truly disconnect if your intentional about it, and to be free and find a place beyond everything else.

Glacier National Park - Image by Author

My hike into Glacier National Park was truly one of the very best hike experiences as a wanderer. Pictures just can’t capture the expanse that gets laid out before you. I did try many times. My photography heart was overwhelmed by the beauty before me. I found myself stopping a lot and finding new scenes to soak in. Creating these incredible mental pictures I could imprint on my soul and treasure them in the album of my mind. How could I ever explain this experience to anyone else? You really can’t, but I can try which is what I am doing now.

Glacier National Park - Photo by Author

One cool crisp morning I remember taking a moment by a stream and stacking smooth stones from large to small as I was surrounded by mountains taller than the clouds that tried to contain them. Trees older and taller than anything I had witnessed before. The playful way chipmunks snickered and played across my lap as I sat to eat lunch. Their attempts to steal my food out of my pockets making me laugh and smile and sometimes jump at their boldness.

Glacier National Park - Photo by Author

Seeing a mountain goat clinging to the outer wall of a mountain side, each footing handled with grace as it scaled up and down with ease. One false move would end in a perilous drop hundreds maybe thousands of feet below. I wanted to be that goat, to live without fear and have the confidence to move through life the same way with each sure step of success.

Glacier National Park - Photo by Author

Seeing a new day dawn and looking at my surroundings, witnessing the light from the sunrise finds its way onto the sharp surfaces and edges of cliff sides, the shadows running for any escape at all to hide from the light.

I find my way deep into areas to hidden waterfalls, my ears were keen to the sounds of an eagle calling from high in the sky as it soared at heights beyond the tree tops. The rushing of water from all around the forest streams as they find ways to hidden lakes full of trout all happily jumping to catch unsuspecting flys. No man has disturbed this place, it is free from our touch. I am thankful to be welcomed here as a visitor. My promise in this experience is observe and soak it in. I will not ruin or contaminate this heavenly place with my human nature, but I will share its wonders in words and pictures in an effort to encourage you to go see it for yourself.

Glacier National Park - Photo by Author

This is why I say it was a step beyond heaven. This was where I feel I am meant and want to be. If I could have stayed there forever I would, but the hustle and bustle of life and cell phone chimes awaited my return. There is a sadness in that thought but it’s okay. All of it has been downloaded into my heart, soul and mind. I will return one day and I hope you will to.

Thank you for letting me share this experience and taking the time to read it. I actually had not documented this trip until now and I thankful to have been pushed into the idea by Wanderer to do so. -Greg

travel photography
2

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.