Viva logo

Reconstructing the Norm

Highlighting Taraji P. Henson and TPH by Taraji.

By Luna JupiterPublished 3 years ago 12 min read
2

In honor of Black History month, I must say there is not enough ink in a box of pens to commemorate the multitude of black creators who have inspired me. While I reflect on challenges past and continuous, I can celebrate in strides the overarching progress made within the community. So much of this progress either acknowledged or overshadowed by events of the past year.

I imagine that on some level, we have all pictured an end in sight. A utopian world where all the progress has been made and where we bask in its rewards. The grand finale where we can all just breathe. I am as eager as the next person to get to that finish line. But until then, it remains beneficial to stress the beauty that has emerged and is emerging from our journey.

So I asked myself this:

Why are we still fighting?

And… what is it that we are truly fighting for?

My answer to these questions revealed the most heartbreaking reality.

What I have uncovered is that while the goals of each movement seem to change their face. From voting rights to today's fights for equality in every social aspect. When it is all stripped away, at the very core, you will realize that we have really been fighting the same fight all along. The simplest of truths that in many ways have often been denied. A fundamental truth that could have avoided the traumas we still battle today.

Each generation holds a torch, a sacred marker of progress passed on from the generation before. With it is an understanding to grow the flame and combat against any attempts to dim that light. Today, I am highlighting a current torchbearer whose recent business venture may appear simple on the surface. A fitting approach, where a seamless resolve can have massive ramifications. A mirror effect where actions that coincide with the undeniable truth can shift the universal perspective.

So let us talk about hair (yes, hair) and how Taraji P. Henson is currently growing the flame with TPH by Taraji.

The Creator ( Torchbearer)

Taraji P. Henson as a leading actress in Hollywood, requires no introduction. She is the personification of black girl magic and all its spells.

With starring roles from hit TV shows like Empire; to fascinating films, like the all inspiring Hidden Figures. She is known for gracing our screens ripe with personality and the best facial expressions. Her acting career dates back over two decades, gaining her a whopping 80 award nominations and 28 wins.

Even with all of those accomplishments, Taraji has managed to do what many other celebrities have struggled with. She has remained relatable! Whether it is yourself, a friend, or a relative — as a black woman, Taraji models after an image we can all recognize.

There is a feeling of representation whenever she is on the screens. And represent, she does extraordinarily well. With just the right amount of poise, style, and attitude, she had done tremendous things for herself and the women who look up to her.

These accolades did not just provide for the adoration of the masses. It has also granted Taraji a massive platform. And how Taraji has been actively utilizing her vibrant platform is what I have come to admire most about her. When she is not busy satisfying our entertainment needs, you can find her outspokenly advocating various causes. Highlighting racial injustice and the stigmas of mental health are a few of the topics she has taken a leading role in underlining. While Taraji leaves much to be applauded, I have zeroed in on one of her recent accomplishments.

The Creation (Torch)

TPH by Taraji

TPH by Taraji is a scalp and hair care company launched in January 2020. The company centers around what they consider a scalp-first approach to hair care. The products include an extensive variation to cover every hair type and need.

If you are like me and are unsure about your hair type. Fear not — the website has you completely covered. From a personalized hair quiz to determine the best products for your hair. To how-to tutorials allowing for a step-by-step breakdown of how you maximize these products for optimal results. The website has proven to be an educational platform. One where you can learn more about your particular hair type — most importantly how to care for and protect it.

https://tphbytaraji.com

TPH by Taraji takes the guesswork out of hair care.

For someone who encounters whiplash when deciding on hair products, finding just the right combination for your particular hair type is no small feat. An even more notable achievement still is decoding the company’s effects underneath…so let us scratch the surface.

What this brand with Taraji at the helm has done is magnify a conversation. Bringing into focus what it means to normalize black hair. Whether we admit it or not, celebrities can be credited for setting the trends, especially when it relates to beauty and fashion standards.

TPH by Taraji

TPH by Taraji goes beyond trendsetting — in a manner that calls for the restructuring of the beauty industry. An industry that by-in-large has perpetuated the false narrative that beauty is set by a single standard. For many years, women have succumbed to these ideals. Making every effort to come as close to this standard as possible.

Even more so, this ideal for beauty disregarded a subset of women — black women who, by appearances alone, went against any standard. The beauty industry norm created two choices for women of color, conform or be ostracized.

In so far, that along the way, we seem to have all but eliminate the natural aspects of beauty.

There was almost a ridicule to be expected as a black woman who dared to wear your hair the way it grew naturally on your head.

Kinky, Nappy, Unkept are just a few of the terms aimed towards categorizing black hair. These words fall in line with other dehumanizing words to refer to the subject matter as substandard. Imagine that…even hair can be classified as inferior.

Keeping in mind the non-inclusive beauty standard. The hair products marketed to black women were also aimed at reaching as close to possible this ideal — one not fashioned to represent us. The ultimate goal of these products would be to alter the appearance and texture of black hair altogether. As can be expected, these products were incredibly harmful both to the hair and the person.

Picture being so ingratiated into this false narrative that you are willing to undergo burns on your scalp to meet this goal.

But hey, at least we had silky straight hair.

For many black women, we can more than picture…it was our norm. It was what we believed was necessary to get ahead. To be seen as more professional or more desirable even.

In recent years, there has been a massive shift with black women, in particular. These women who are pushing past and encouraging an alteration to the status quo. First by identifying the lack of representation within the beauty industry, coupled with their willingness to speak out about it.

TPH by Taraji has been able to grab hold of this conversation and continues to aim it in the right direction. With Taraji amplifying the voices of other black women on her platform. She has been successfully transforming the narrative. Doing so by celebrating all hair textures with a haircare company directed at promoting naturally healthy hair. TPH by Taraji is creating a more inclusive approach within the beauty industry. Allowing women the freedom of choice to determine their own ideals.

TBH by Taraji

Even more important is the message that there is no shame in your hair game. Having dreads does not make your hair dirty. Wearing braids or cornrows does not make a person ghetto. An afro does not mean you are lazy or unkept. A message that is empowering a community to embrace and celebrate the uniqueness they have been afforded naturally. A willingness to demonstrate with pride the beauty that has for too long been misunderstood or ignored. The goal is to make our position clear in the industry that can no longer exclude our obvious presence. To shine a light on the misconceptions of black hair; while illustrating that beauty ideals are extensive and inclusive.

The way Taraji with TPH by Taraji has reframed the narrative has done more than given me the tools needed for hair goals. It has left me inspired.

The inspiration (Growing the flame)

I remember being only ten years old when my mom finally decided to relax my hair. The feeling of excitement washed all over me. It felt like, at last, my hair will be cute. As cute as the girls on TV, the magazines, or even the kids on the boxes of kiddie perm. I had no understanding of the chemicals that were in the product. I doubt it would have mattered much in terms of my excitement.

I can understand that my mother had alternate reasons as to why she made the decision. It could have been because my hair broke a new comb each week. Maybe spending hours to detangle and style my hair was a little stressful and not very practical. Yet, she debated for a long time before finally agreeing that the best approach to dealing with my wild and curly hair would be a relaxer.

Thinking back, I am sure I was smiling throughout the entire process, no more headaches from brushing out my hair, and of course, I will be cute. I remember feeling the burning sensations on my scalp and refusing to let my mother know of my discomfort.

I heard from someone else you need to let it burn a while.

My mom, however, had other plans in mind. She decided to wash my hair out before the recommended time. I recall wanting to cry, not because of my burning scalp but because my hair would not be straight as I pictured. While I hid my disappointment after the fact, my mom was tremendously pleased. My hair texture though not changed completely, became more manageable for her. Which, of course, was all she wanted.

As I reminisce, I cannot help but think of the wonders that TPH by Taraji would have done for my mom. It would have offered her a way to understand my hair that was so different from hers. She would have found safe means to treat and protect my hair without having to alter its texture. The fact remains that her choices in dealing with my hair were to conform or be left out.

Not to mention what it would mean for me at that age to have that level of representation on my TV screen. That image that in some way resembles mine being celebrated and portrayed as stylish or beautiful. I would have known then that my hair was already cute.

I went on relaxing my hair for the next seven years of my life. Before turning to heat styling to obtain the straight hair I desired. As I approached adulthood, I steered towards color treatments and short cuts, though I never relaxed my hair again.

One summer morning, I decided to wash my bob-style cut and let it air dry. That day I checked the mirrors repeatedly… I was mesmerized that my hair curled as it did. I had all but forgotten at that point what my natural hair texture looked like. I swung my head from side to side taking it in for every angle. At a certain point during that day, I had worked up the confidence to say…

You know what? I could rock my hair like this.

And so I did. I went to work the next morning, ready to show off my curly hair. To say the least, I was highly unprepared for the attention my hair received that day.

Bad hair day?

What’s up with your hair today.

No time to fix your hair this morning?

And the all too familiar...

Can I touch it?

I couldn't understand it. Did nature design my hair to look like an animal at a petting zoo?

I recall laughing off the comments at that time. However, I remained fascinated that the reaction to my natural hair was that something was wrong with it. There was obvious bias to my hair, its texture, its difference.

A prejudice that I held myself for a long time, until I embraced the one true thing. Why wouldn't my hair be unique when I am? My hair was designed for me, not so I could fit it into some idea of normal. But so I can wear it and be all that I am — uniquely me!

This bias for something so simple as hair shows up in many forms for people of color. For people of different beliefs or nationalities, and it goes on.

So we must ask ourselves if the ideals we strive for are worth anything if they negate the truth.

If we transform our bias into acceptance, that uniqueness is in of itself beautiful. Then, the motive for normalizing black hair is a stepping stone to understanding and appreciating what diversity brings to the table — beauty.

It represents this on-going fight to act upon a truth that was denied centuries ago.

The only truth we should have rooted in all of our ideals.

The Truth

The truth is acknowledged passed the point of debate. What the truth needs now is action!

As we celebrate Taraji as the torchbearer, spreading the flame with TPH by Taraji. The messages are loud and clear, reminding us that nature makes no mistakes. As she shouts from her massive platform with the voices of all the torchbearers before her. There is a reawakening, a call to reconstruct the norm, with an announcement to spread an understanding that will benefit and inspire the whole.

The foundation of what we still fight for today will be the ground we can stand on in hopes of our Utopia. That our differences do not make us violent, a threat, or inferior. For the truth always was as it shall forever be.

That the fight continues until we go beyond mere acknowledgment of this undeniable truth. We must embrace and showcase it in a way that dignifies all that we are. With our skin rich in melanin and curly hair, it is what we have always been — HUMAN!

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Luna Jupiter

Reconstructing the norm one pen stroke at a time

Curiosity drives my passion

Intrigue serves my inspiration

Ink to paper is the vessel

And, the stories are my gift

Instagram: @l.jupiter.writes

Twitter: @LJupiterAuthor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.