Viva logo

Inspiring Movies With Women That Make You Go, Grrrrrr

From The Hurricane, to the The Blind Side

By Melanie CharlesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Inspiring Movies With Women That Make You Go, Grrrrrr
Photo by Corina Rainer on Unsplash

Are you ready to go down a rabbit hole? Don’t worry, we’ll start with some easy ones. Let me share movies that I love and some I don’t but definitely think are worth watching.

Let’s start with a movie about a boxer because this is what I watched today. The Hurricane starring Denzel Washington. I highly recommend this. A movie about a boxer wrongly convicted and jailed for a crime. Well written and a strong cast and based on a true story.

But where do we go from here? We can got three ways. Do we binge on Denzel Washington movies? There are some good ones. Or follow the path of true stories of innocent men jailed erroneously? Or get the heart pumping with a sweet old boxing movie or two?

I choose boxing movies. Here are a couple of my recommendations, The Fighter with Mark Wahlburg and Christian Bale. Million Dollar Baby with Hillary Swank or the iconic Ali played by Will Smith. It depends what you’re in the moon for? If you want something gritty and inspiring, they are all that, but I’m in the mood for Million Dollar Baby, I hope you are too?

Don’t worry, I’m not done with boxing movies. We’ve watched Million Dollar Baby, but maybe you want something lighter? Let’s follow another woman boxer and feel uplifted. The exciting moment when we feel as women we can do anything. The next recommendation is Girlfight with Michelle Roderiguez. Don’t expect a complex screen play, but it will get you wanting to buy boxing gloves and going a few rounds in the ring.

Our journey doesn’t end there. Maybe a bit of Michelle Rodeiquez and Vin Deisel and the late Paul Walker? The Fast and the Furious is that high octane, race the streets, let’s be criminals kinda vibe. Strong women and even stronger cars.

But I want to choose a movie that makes me feel uplifted to be a woman with a side of action. See there is a theme here. Look, the next one might not be your favourite, but it is one of mine, GI Jane. Don’t judge or groan before you watch it. It is light, but gives you that grrrr feeling as a woman. I mean the classic line where Demi Moore, oh did I forget to mention this was a Demi Moore film. You either love her or you don’t. But I still remember the bit where she says, ‘Suck my d**k.’ It’s perfectly improbable, but it delivers on action and that uplifting grrr moment as a woman. Tick, tick.

Now one more as we tip toe further down the rabbit hole in this choose your own adventure. You read those as a kid, right?

Oh gosh there are so many others that we can choose from. Hunger Games? A strong woman with a lot of action. I mean it’s life and death all the way and I enjoyed watching it, but I’m not feeling that tonight.

Hidden Figures which is more cerebral, but just as inspiring. This movie I can’t sing out about enough. If you want to see inspiring women, who are intelligent and stimulating to watch then this is it.

Ocean’s Eight anyone? Another movie that makes me smile. This band of unlikely, highly likeable women pulling off a diamond heist. A strong cast: Cate Blanchett, Sandra Bullock, Anne Hathaway, Mindy Kaling, Awkwafina. Need I go on, because I could!

Drum roll………I want to end my theme that has become strong and inspiring women with a Sandra Bullock movie, The Blind Side. Based on a true story. A woman who is just kick arse in how she lives her life and takes on the world. Every time I watch this movie I think let’s be a bit more Leigh Anne. A definite favourite. I may just have to see if it’s on Netflix and watch it, again. Who's got the popcorn.

movie review
1

About the Creator

Melanie Charles

Children's book author. Often gets the apostrophe placing wrong.

Often ponders, 'How did I get so old?' Writes stories about her life so far, things that interest her and often things that make her rage at the world. Pretty much whatever.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.