Viva logo

FEMINISM- a letter to all men

Urging my male family members to join HeForShe campaign through this letter, the sudden creation of a 19-year old in college examination...

By Anjali MehraPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
3
FEMINISM- a letter to all men
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

Yesterday sitting on my study table, it suddenly clicked me that in the first semester of my college, I wrote some answers to questions on feminism in my examination. For me, those answers were one of the best pieces of my creativity. I was so elated after writing those answers that I told all my family members, my friends, even my neighbors about them :)

Today, I realize something else as well. I realize what it means what they say, “process (journey) matters more than the results (destination).”

It same happened with me. I don’t remember what marks I got after writing those answers, but I remember what I wrote. WOW! 😊

Okay, enough talks! Let me share with you all too, one of the answers to those questions.

So, it was an Open Book Examination (OBE) for Bachelor’s degree in Commerce (Honors), Semester-1, Subject- ENGLISH (Ability enhancement compulsory course)

So, we were given a comprehensive passage that had a part of this speech of Emma Watson. Looking at that passage, I was super excited, as I had listened to that speech in past.

So, what I did instead of reading the passage, I opened YouTube and listened to that speech again.

P.S. I could do so because it was an OBE!

This was one of the 6 questions asked which I answered:

Write a letter to a male member of your family- brother, father, uncle, grandfather- describing the HeForShe campaign and asking them to join it. (Answer in 500-600 words for 25 marks)

And this was my answer:

Dear father,

Hope you are healthy and doing well, I am fine here. Missing you and mom a lot! Today is International Daughters’ Day. Everyone is thanking good for giving them a beautiful daughter(s). Every parent is wishing for their daughters’ good health and career. I just received your heartfelt letter and the gift you had sent. I am glad papa! I am glad that you are my father. I am glad that you are still there for your two daughters. Though its Daughters’ Day, but I wanna say Thank You Papa for being there always for us.

You supported us the time we needed the most. You made us capable to fight all the odds and reaching where we are today. You are the Best Father as I had said many a times. But today I want to honour you with the title of a “Feminist Father”.

I know that this word is pretty new to you but don't worry! Till now, you have explained to us how this world works. Now, it’s my turn!

Do you remember the day when you argued with grandpa about mom's abortion? Yes! that day, I heard this story from mom. You almost threatened him to leave the house. Why? Just to support mom and her unborn child, my younger sister Kriti. That day you became a feminist!

I hope you still remember the argument with my class teacher who said that being a girl, I am not strong to participate in Shotput, the athletic event. But you challenged him, trained me for one month and then I got selected in the school team as a single girl, the rest all boys. That day you again proved that you are a feminist!

Oh! I am sure you must remember the day I was appointed as the Head Girl of the school. How happy you were! We had a party and how proudly you posted about it on Facebook. That happiness signifies you are a feminist!

Supporting a woman be it your wife, sister, daughter or anyone, to help her get equal opportunity in every field is what we call feminism. Just like you, there are many people in the world who do exactly the same thing. One such group of people started a famous campaign HeForShe back in 2014.

Do you remember Emma Watson, that actress who played as Hermione in Harry Potter series? Yes! Those movies I watch on repeat. So, she introduced this campaign at an event by United Nations. What a powerful speech she gave! I recommend you do listen to her speech! So, this HeForShe campaign is an invitation for people of all genders to stand with women and bring gender equality.

This campaign aims to spread awareness in every individual to come forward and support women around them to help them in creating an impact. This is a different campaign as you don’t need to go and protest against someone for something. You just need to show support in day-to-day life.

I won't ask you to join this campaign as you are already a part of it. The way you have supported my mother and me in every sphere of life is the only thing one needs to do. But what I want you to do is to please make my little brother understand how to respect women, why to respect women, and how to support them. He is too young to understand my theories but I am sure that you have that ability. The way you have realized and made us realize the motive of HeForShe campaign, without even knowing it, I want you to please make my brother just like you.

After all, as John Legend says, “All men should be feminists. If men come about women's rights, the world will be a better place.”

I am ending this letter now but we have more to discuss. Just like the way we have discussed ‘periods’ and ‘sex’ at home, be ready to further discuss feminism.

Meet you soon my Feminist Father and thank you once again for all you did. Take care!

Yours lovingly

Anjali

A proud feminist daughter

So, this was my answer. I am even attaching my original answer in writing so that I could prove I actually wrote this.

P.S. Today I corrected some grammatical mistakes, thanks to online tools!

Pics of my original writing. Sorry if the pic is blur :(

Now, you tell me did I answer the question asked appropriately?

If you would have been the invigilator, have I gotten full marks?

With this, I am signing off.

Thank you for reading my story 😊

Anjali

feminism
3

About the Creator

Anjali Mehra

I am a student, who has to face lots of problems regarding studies, living alone in an unknown city, dealing with a variety of people. Despite all these problems, I always stay positive, and that's what my stories also reflect!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.