Viva logo

Feminism- a creative interview

Interviewing my (imaginary) classmates on feminism, sudden creation of a 19-year during college examinations

By Anjali MehraPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2
Feminism- a creative interview
Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

In continuation with my last story, this was another question out of the 6 asked in my examination which I answered:

Emma Watson asks “Why is the word (feminism) such an uncomfortable one?” Your college magazine has asked you to interview your classmates to find out why they are uncomfortable with the word feminism. Write an interview with some of your classmates, both men and women.

And this was my answer:

The famous face Emma Watson asks in her special event “Why is the word (feminism) such an uncomfortable one?”

So, we are here with another amazing interview of our college students on their views & opinions about the same question.

[This interview is conducted by Rashmi]

Rashmi: Hello Rekha! Congratulations on winning the debate contest last week.

Rekha: Thanks Rashmi!

Rashmi: So, Rekha. We have seen how amazing debater you are especially on environmental issues. But, can you share your views on feminism today?

Rekha: Ah! First of all, thanks for the compliment. Next, my view on feminism is rather clear. I believe in equality and hence I am not a feminist.

Rashmi: You said you believe in equality but you are not a feminist. Why are you not comfortable being called a feminist? Don’t you know feminism means talking about equality?

Rekha: Simply because I hate silly things feminists do.

Rashmi: Silly things? Can you please elaborate?

Rekha: Yes sure! I have seen many women claiming they are feminists but their only job is to target men in every case. I mean really? Are only men responsible for all misunderstandings? Or is it fair to target men in every case? Do you remember the case of that boy who committed suicide because a girl falsely accused him of molestation and he was lashed out on social media? Cases like these convinced me that talking about equality is more accurate than talking about feminism?

Rashmi: Thank you Rekha for your sharing your thoughts with us.

Rashmi: Hello Adarsh! I hope you are doing well with the responsibility of B.Com. (Hons) representative of our college.

Adarsh: Hi Rashmi! Yes, I am doing well. What about you?

Rashmi: Yes! Me too. Just busy interviewing for the college magazine.

Adarsh: It’s quite a hectic task man! [chuckles]

Rashmi: [chuckles] Yes! It is.

[normalizing] So, Adarsh! What are your views? Why people are not comfortable when called a feminist?

Adarsh: [thinking] I guess because it originates from the word ‘female’.

Actually, I don't know much about it. But I think whatever comes under feminism is supposed to be a feminine work, and you know right we are ‘Men’, surrounded by societal stereotypes. We have to behave in a way society idealizes. If I say ‘I am a feminism,’ my family & peers won’t understand the meaning of feminism but mock me that I associated ‘female’ word with myself. So, to avoid that situation, I resist calling myself a feminist and I think many boys think the same way.

By the way, what is feminism?

Rashmi: Feminism is supporting women so that they can get equal & fair opportunities as their male counterparts, they don’t feel imprisoned, they are not judged for their body but for their talents.

Adarsh: Oh! It is totally different from what I thought. Thank you, Rashmi. Now, I’ll explore more about it, and then turn to you with more explanations. Till then please ignore my previous views. I was unaware at that time.

Rashmi: That's great Adarsh! At least you realised what you thought till now was a half-truth. It's good that you’re thinking to explore the issue. We’re glad for having men like you in our college. I’m sure you’ll become a feminist soon.

Rashmi: Hello Darsh and Nandini! The most popular couple of our college. I am curious to know that you revealed your relationship before everyone in college, friends, even professors and family. Aren’t you afraid? Just like normal people do, because this is India and... I think you are getting it, right?

Nandini & Darsh: [together] Yes! We are getting.

Nandini: First of all, why do we fear? We did nothing wrong. Everyone has a relationship. The only difference is they try to hide and we didn’t.

Darsh: See Rashmi! We feel complete with each other. We told our respective families. Earlier, they opposed us as we both belong to different castes. But, when they met us, observed us, they allowed us. Love is a great feeling and I guess our families felt it and thus they supported us.

Rashmi: Pretty complicated stuff! [gasps]

[normalizing] coming to the point, can I know your views on why people resist being called a feminist?

Darsh: [laughing] We were just discussing the same thing.

Rashmi: Really? Do couples talk about these serious issues? I never heard that before. You both are amazing guys!

Nandini: That's the problem and answer to your question as well. You know we all are greatly influenced by the movies and these celebrities are like our idols. We want to do what they do. Thus, when many celebrities and social influencers backed off on being called a ‘feminist’, people thought feminism is no good. Just like you thought couples don’t talk about these serious issues. Why did you think so? Isn’t it because it’s shown in movies that couples are all lovey-dovey and they will talk about their likes, dislikes, past life, and even those cheesy future plans?

Rashmi: Ya! Kind of.

Nandini: But in reality, we couples discuss many more things. Let’s keep that thing for some other day. Coming back to your question, seeing their idol back off from something, even forces young minds to think feminism is not a good concept.

Darsh: Not only this, the reason why they backed off was also the rumours and misconceptions about feminism. For instance, there are some women who might simply hate men because of their personal bad experiences and then call themselves feminists. Their actions became more symbolic than the actual meaning of feminism. In reality, those are anti-feminist actions, and those so-called ‘feminists’ themselves don’t know the real meaning.

But as you know in our country or in any other nation, hatred spread faster than love and that’s what happened with feminism as well. The actions of those women today define feminism and people do not bother to know what actual feminism is!

Rashmi: Wow! [gasps] You two are incredible!

I have time constraints otherwise… Never mind, we will continue this discussion later maybe.

Till then, thank you so much, guys. Your views are great and I am sure our college mates will learn a lot from you.

Nandini and Darsh: [together] Thanks to you too.

Darsh: And yes, we’ll surely talk about it later.

So, this was my answer. I am even attaching my original answer in writing so that I could prove I actually wrote this.

I corrected some grammatical mistakes, thanks to online tools, and even added some parts, so to make the answers of interviewees clearer.

Now, you tell me did I answer the question asked appropriately?

If you would have been the invigilator, have I gotten full marks?

Also, tell me, do you want me to continue with this interview, and write more about my thoughts on feminism in the form of an interesting interview?

P.S. At last, Rashmi said she has time constraints, but actually, I was running out of time in the examination ☹ Had it not been in an examination, I would have written more & better.

With this, I am signing off.

Thank you for reading my story 😊

Anjali

PS. If you like my stories, follow me on social media.

feminism
2

About the Creator

Anjali Mehra

I am a student, who has to face lots of problems regarding studies, living alone in an unknown city, dealing with a variety of people. Despite all these problems, I always stay positive, and that's what my stories also reflect!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Astitv Bharadwaj2 years ago

    Well put!👍🙌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.