Viva logo

Dear Yeon-Mi Park

Open letter to a former North-Korean resident

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Dear Yeon-Mi Park
Photo by Random Institute on Unsplash

Dear Yeon-mi,

Vocal have asked us to write about a letter to the strongest woman we know. There are many contenders for this, our aunts, mothers and sisters, teachers, celebrities and idols. In the end, I chose to write a letter to you. I have travelled to many countries around the world and a day trip in Busan and our tour guide openly discussed North Korea.

When I came back to the UK, I borrowed your book, In Order to Live with the library and it moved me in a way I never thought was possible. I am not ashamed to say I cried. I had heard many myths and seen how the North Korean dictators are seen as comic figures on the internet. Through your book, I felt educated on North Korean culture and their regime made me think of George Orwell’s 1984. The scariest part of that book is how real it became through your country.

It’s been a few years since I read that book, and I have been watching your YouTube channel and learning that North Korea has so much in common with Dystopain fiction. Eating and catching bugs reminded me of The Hunger Games were Katniss hunted to keep her family alive. Battle Royale’s regime, The Programme that forces a random class to fight to the death is as brutal as the North Korean regime itself.

You are a victim of emotional trauma, abuse, brainwashing and starvation. Seen bodies left, right and centre throughout the country. I know some people have questioned the legitimacy to your story, but I still believe in you. The contradictions may have been caused through language barriers and trauma changing your memory. Not everyone has perfect memories of their childhood.

On top of that, you’ve been able to learn a language, write a book, give brave speeches to a large audience and been able to stay strong. Because of that, I admire you. I am so proud of you. I have never met you, but I would like to. I do not think I would survive if I had to live in your shoes.

I played a game on the switch the other day called Bury Me, My Love. It’s about text-based game between a Syrian man and his wife. His wife tries to escape Syria and cross the borders for safety, but her journey is dangerous. Even though the destinations are different to. North Korea, the principle of the game and the storyline is similar to yours and the many North Koreans who try to flee the country.

Thank you for shining a light on one of the darkest nations in the world. Thank you for showing us how hard they work just to get a few grains of rice. I am grateful that you opened our eyes and gave us a glimpse into this secret society. Their regime belongs in the past, but shows no signs of stopping anytime soon.

Your videos have also taught us how much society shapes our minds and ideas of a perfect body and person. I was shocked when you said you used to have a crush on the dictactor, but back then, you were none the wiser.

I can sense you’ve been disappointed by the previous president’s response to Covid-19, the bad decisions made and how it caused outrages and protests. The last thing you want is to have the country, you learned to live and call your home to turn into North Korea II.

I think you are stronger than you think. You are strong and graceful through your fragileness. Even though you have been through a lot, you still have time to be kind and give love and hope. I can only imagine how you feel knowing you have family in North Korea. I hope you and the rest of North Korea will have freedom one day.

activism
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.