Viva logo

As Africans Beat Their Chest Over Ghana & Uganda Anti-Gay Laws: Know This Women Are Being Slaughtered By Heterosexual Men Politicians Silent

African women & girls are being murdered by their lovers & husbands, girls are being raped & ignored by government

By IwriteMywrongsPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Like
Created by the author in Canva

Thursday, 6 July 2023

By: TB Obwoge

What's so frustrating about watching Ghanians & other Africans applaud anti-LGTBQ bills is that, number one they all think that homosexuality is criminalized all over Africa. It isn't, so don't ever let that be your excuse for not visiting those countries where homosexuality is legal?

The second, that they don't give a shit that women and girls in their countries are being raped (defiled), impregnated, beaten and even murdered. In Ghana the news media has been very silent about most of the murdered women. However those outlets reporting it aren't keeping count either.

I speak on these things because gender equality was one of the reasons I was in Ghana in the first place. Corruption, scamming and the immense negativity towards how women in Ghana are treated made me decide not to register in country. Besides their racism in thinking my light skin was white and not that of a Black woman.

In just one day, 3 people died by the hands of lovers and boyfriends. One man killed his lover and her 8-year-old child, that same day another woman's murder made news by her lover. In 1 month 6 women, were brutally murdered, I mean brutally with items would've never imagined.

Just a day ago in Ghana's Eastern Region another woman was murdered.

Even in Texas, in the United States a Nigerian killed his wife and a Ghanian man did the same as well.

From UTV News Ghana's PUBLIC Facebook Account

The Ghanian man had the nerve to request before taking his life to be buried back in Ghana. His family has refused to return his remains to Ghana. You know what some Ghana media did in that case? Well they called his wife a whore, the used the Twi term for prostitute, how classy of them. How classy to tarnish the name of a woman, the victim.

The Nigerian man cursed his wife's body, beating her while on a 911 call. If I were to mention the culture of cheating on women and beating your women in West Africa, I would be insulted. Even though we all know or have heard of the culture, or how about lived through it.

Not only that, Ghana's rape culture has been openly "joked" about by men, right in front of my face.

While seated around educated "pensioners" as they called themselves, Americans would simply say retired men. One joked, he looked at the barmaid named Charity, he grabbed her breasts and then her rear end. He laughed proclaiming, "In your America, I would need consent for that but not here in Ghana!"

Collage Created by the author

He smirked, these 4-7 pensioners would talk and laugh about their wives and girlfriends. All so proud to have both wives & girlfriends. This same man told me that in Ghana there was no such thing as marital rape either. I wasn't married in Ghana, I was told in the most frightening way that I could never say no to sex with my ex-fiancé, Ernest Addo.

His laughter was often contagious but that night he turned stone cold, I had told him no after his crude request for sex. He was driving at the time, he turned to me, in all the seriousness of a murder scene and told me I was to never tell him no, not ever.

He didn't turn back to laughing until I replied in the affirmative. I'm not a cowardly woman. Yet in that moment, it was the most immense non-physical thing to threat to ever happen to me. He requested sex at times, I never wanted to give it, he hurt me sometimes but would snap "Stop crying!"

I've written until my fingers hurt about the femicide in Ghana, Uganda & Kenya. But it seems no ones saying a word, all these mostly male politicians seem to have not one care in the world for woman or children.

Just know this, their bullshit lies about protecting the family isn't true, protecting their culture, what culture? The one where women and children are nothing but property? That seems to be it right there.

A Ghanian man went to social media proclaiming you shouldn't beat gays, which is illegal in Ghana. Beating people is agains the law, Ghanians have beaten men they think are too effeminate. I am not sorry, I lived in Ghana, to me all the men appear to be openly effeminate. I've never in my life seen men suck their teeth, wear women's shoes or hand bangs. I've never seen so many men look at each other and not women.

I have never seen men, hiss & kiss in the air at others, to get their attention, even other males. Touch in the way the do, hold their hands in the air, the way women do, or have such long finger nails that most refuse to cut.

Upon my first arrival in Ghana I would've thought that this was a place for open air homosexuality. I didn't see such femininity in men living in Kenya, my husband used to do some things that were questionable but I realized later he was, well I won't say.

Let me take the time to mention I too was sexually assaulted in Ghana by a higher ranking police officer. I reported it and many other crimes to Ghana's IGP, the top cop (police officer) they did nothing. Ghana and Uganda don't care about women and children. They just hate homosexuals and blame them for everything.

Thank you for reading 🙏🏽 Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey's House efforts in Gender Equality & Children's Rights.

©️TB Obwoge 2023 All Rights Reserved

lgbtqiatravelrelationshipspoliticsbodyactivism
Like

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.