Viva logo

A Tale of Two Periods

An Experiment on Whether Diet Impacts Endometriosis Symptoms

By Leann BrownPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Since I was diagnosed with endometriosis 15 years ago, I can’t recall a single time a doctor recommended managing my symptoms with diet. Instead, every doctor I saw recommended surgery and progestin heavy birth control. Eventually I got sick of feeling like my endo symptoms were not adequately managed plus suffering from the additional side effects from birth controls, so I decided to look for a more holistic approach to treating my Stage IV Endometriosis.

In my search for holistic treatment methods I came across several books, articles, and journals discussing utilizing diet to manage symptoms. When I told my doctor that I planned to stop taking birth control and to just use diet to manage my endo, he looked at me like I was crazy. I decided to try it anyways.

I started following an anti-inflammatory and low estrogen diet. Translation — I was eating a low carb, high protein, good fats diet most of the time. After several months, I felt like I was managing my endo symptoms pretty well and was relieved to be free of the side effects from the progestin birth controls I had been on for years.

I told my mom, who also suffers from endometriosis, about my decision and she questioned how I knew the diet change was working versus my endo symptoms just not being that bad. After getting over being a bit offended, I got to thinking she was right. I had been treating my endo for so long that I didn’t really know what my baseline was anymore so I decided to find out.

The Experiment

For the first part of my experiment I decided I would follow my low carb, high protein, good fats diet perfectly for the week prior to and the week during my period. For the second part of the experiment, I would eat whatever I wanted with no restrictions for the week prior to and the week during my period. At the end of the second part, I would compare results and determine whether following a diet effectively managed my symptoms.

The First Period

The week prior to my first period I went to the grocery store and bought only endo diet friendly foods — lots of leafy greens, berries, low fat proteins, and good fats. I meal prepped so I would have food on hand in case I got hungry to avoid cheating.

During the week I followed my meal plan perfectly and drank plenty of water while skipping my morning coffee. I made sure to do the same the following week.

The results? I felt great! I noticed very little cramping or bloating. I didn’t need to take any OTC pain medication. I didn’t experience a break out. My flow was lighter than it had been the previous month and I felt like I had more energy.

The Second Period

The week prior to my second period, I let my husband do the grocery shopping. I didn’t meal prep and I didn’t make sure we had endo diet friendly snacks on hand. During the week I ate whatever without paying attention to the carb, sugar, or fat content of what I was eating. I went back to drinking my morning coffee. I felt bloated and started to break out.

During the second week we were visiting my family for my dad’s 60th birthday. They tend to eat a lot of carbs, sugars, and starches that are often fried. Their food tastes great but is about as far from endo diet friendly as you can get!

The results? I felt awful! I was incredibly bloated and had stabbing cramps that stopped me dead in my tracks! I was popping Ibuprofen like they were Tic Tacs! My flow was super heavy, my skin looked terrible, and I felt super tired.

Conclusion

After the conclusion of my second period it was clear that my diet had a major impact on my endo symptoms. Now I am not saying that you can or should 2completely manage your endometriosis with diet alone! I am just saying that for me, diet was the difference between feeling relatively normal during my period and feeling like curling up in a ball and crying.

If you suffer from endometriosis and want to learn more about the endo diet, check out Eating for Endometriosis.

health
Like

About the Creator

Leann Brown

I have suffered from Stage IV Endometriosis since I was 13. My goal is to help others avoid some of the mistakes I made by sharing my journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.